top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Featured Author [June 2018]


It's that time again! I've been so incredibly lucky to have found our featured author for June! I honestly can't come up with enough words to describe this incredible author!

For those who are unfamiliar, I have a monthly contest - one that includes the opportunity for all of my readers, both new and old, to be featured on my website, and multiple social media accounts!

Now, with great pleasure, I am pleased to announce June's featured author, Ana (Xanabanana66x)!

For those who don't know, Ana is an author who started writing on Wattpad nearly two years ago (Happy Early Anniversary!), and I've got to say that this author is creating mysteries like no other!

Since sharing her writing with the rest us on Wattpad, she's written 5 books, the most popular being the mind boggling (and weirdly realistic?) mystery, WINTER HAS COME. This particular story is the first in it's series, and follows our protagonist Amelia Harris as she fights to survive a freak snow storm that left her town in frozen shambles! Seeing how modern day floods, hurricanes, and other freak incidents have affected thousands of people in the past (and future), it's not hard to get sucked into this snowy plot! I would highly recommend it to everyone!

Since getting to know Ana , I can tell you that she is one of the most relatable people I've spoken to as of late (mystery novels with a side of olives anyone?). She, like most of us here, started out in her younger years writing mindless stories about two best friends, and one day, that all changed. Something clicked for her, and now she's cut herself a small slice of the Wattpad pie by introducing us to her incredible works of fiction. Ana's got a blissful terror to her writing; one second her character Amelia is strolling through the snow, the next, everything goes black. I'm sure those big time authors have an amazing influence in her writing, and honestly, it seems she's only getting better by the second! I'd keep an eye on this author (WINTER HAS COME has already won a few awards!).

I would like to give a personal congratulations to this amazing author! You will be featured both here, and on my Wattpad!

For anyone that would like to get to know Xanabanana66x better, check out the interview on my Wattpad, or down below!

 

SS: How long have you been on Wattpad?

X: I’ve been on Wattpad for almost two years—I first joined when my friend recommended it to me and I had nothing to do during the weekend. She told me I would like it, since I enjoy reading, but little did I know that it would soon turn into a life-changing passion.

SS: How long have you been writing?

X: Ever since I was about eight. My first story was a boring drama about two best friends, one of who was moving away (half of it I can’t even read because my handwriting was so atrocious) and that’s about it. Ever since then, my love for writing just… grew.

SS: When did you first realize you wanted to write?

X: To be perfectly honest with you: I have no clue. All I know is that I have a folder full of messy, silly stories that I only vaguely remember putting onto paper. I think it was the fact that I love to read so much that made me think: ‘Let me have a go at that’. And so that was probably when this obsession for writing was born.

SS: What do you like to do when you're not writing?

X: Read! I read! When I’m not reading, I’m either playing the piano or eating olives (you can never go wrong with olives. I think they’re the best things ever created).

SS: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say when you do?

X: Yes, I do hear from readers sometimes. They mainly comment on stories, but some of them are so sweet that they really make my day. The best ones, though, are the critiques because they’re honest but not rude. And that’s the perfect thing to base your writing off when you’re looking to improve.

SS: What do you think makes a good story?

X: In a nutshell, two main things: a good plot and believable characters. One won’t work without the other. You need to know your audience but, most importantly, you need to have a drive for the story. The best thing about writing a novel is getting a thrill every time you sit down at the keyboard.

SS: How do you go about writing a chapter?

X: First, I’ll take a few days thinking about what I want in the chapter. This mainly means daydreaming about it, and playing it through my head like a film. That way, I can get perspective and details that are vital later on. Next, I jot things down in my notebook (random stuff—anything that comes into my head) and then, if I want to, I begin to write. No structure or anything. I just write. Even if I think it’s bad when I’m re-reading it, it’s still down. That’s the important thing.

SS: What gives you inspiration?

X: Anything. Literally anything in the world that I see. A mirror, a box, a piece of jewelry, someone who passes me by on the street. Anything can give me that little flare of a thought that I just have to grasp and save to develop later.

SS: Who influences your writing?

X: Oh, many, many people. I love the works of Gillian Philip (Crossing the Line), Phil Earle (Saving Daisy), Glenda Millard (The Stars at Oktober Bend), Martin Stewart (The Sacrifice Box), Dyan Sheldon (There are tons of books by her, and all of them I love), Gareth P. Jones (The Thornthwaite Inheritance—an absolute killer). The list could go on and on…

SS: How would you describe yourself as a writer?

X: An introvert on the outside but a pure maniac on the inside. My brain is like a wild dog that’s just caught rabies; there’s not a single thing that doesn’t go unanalysed. I tend to overthink things, have a constant desire to perfect my work, and always feel the need to write down anything that comes into my head.

SS: What's your favorite genre to write under?

X: When I’m feeling normal, I go for mystery and thriller or fantasy or sometimes horror, but when I’m feeling quirky and have this strange idea that I can rule the world, I’ll sometimes go for comedy and kill people with my bad, dad jokes.

SS: What's one of your favorite stories on Wattpad?

X: Hmm, I’m going to have to go with Molten Hearts by @sravani-yenamandra because it’s such a brilliant story, written by one of the kindest people I know who’s always there when I’m having writing-issues. It’s a great love story—you’re in for a treat.

SS: And finally, what's one of your favorite stories you've written on Wattpad?

X: Do I have to be modest or can I be selfish? Well, I’d say my book called Winter Has Come. It was my first story here on Wattpad, and holds significant meaning. The inspiration was waking up myself to a cold, winter’s day. If you do read it, please tell me what you think. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

 

There you have it - our lovely featured author for June 2018! Head back over to the main Featured Page to check out the up and coming Featured List as well!

And if you would like to enter, check out the contests book on my Wattpad profile for more information! The next featured author could be you...

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page