top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Featured Author [May 2018]


It's that time again! I've been so incredibly lucky to have found our featured author for May! From the get go, I could tell that she was a stand-out among the nearly 25 submissions received over the last month!

For those who are unfamiliar, I have a monthly contest - one that includes the opportunity for all of my readers, both new and old, to be featured on my website, and multiple social media accounts!

Now, with great pleasure, I am pleased to announce May's featured author, Alice Blake (@Alice_Blake)!

For those who don't know, Alice is an author whose relatively new to the online writing community; but that didn't stop her from writing an utterly fantastic YA novel.

Since starting on Wattpad nearly four years ago, she's written 1 book, that being her astonishing novel, NEW AGE MONSTERS. Though she got her on Wattpad as a reader, she took the plunge into the world of Wattpad writing last year, coming forth with her debut novel. The book asks what exactly it takes to make a monster... And our protagonist Eden is sure to find out...

Since getting to know Alice, I can tell you that this girl likes her writing on the darker side of the spectrum. Any idea with a little bite to it is something Alice is sure to sink her teeth into. Despite her love for the creepier works, she also has a love for fantasy (any Harry Potter fans out there?), and coming of age stories. This combination, though off-putting to some at first, comes forth with such intrigue that it's hard to see why her writing hasn't been discovered sooner. With time, proper planning, and an imagination that has surely run wild, it's no wonder she's our featured author of the month. Any new authors out there, be sure to take notes during this interview. Alice is one author with a process that left me in awe (as I'm usually one to simply jump head first into things). You can see the time, energy, and creativity she's put into her latest creation, and I know from here we'll only be seeing more like this from her!

I would like to give a personal congratulations to this amazing author! You will be featured both here, and on my Wattpad!

For anyone that would like to get Alice to know her better, check out the interview on my Wattpad, or down below!

 

SS: How long have you been on Wattpad?

AB: I’ve been around since June 14, 2014, which sounds like a long time, but I only started actively posting and getting involved with communities last year, when I had a draft of NEW AGE MONSTERS that I was more or less happy with and – oh man – did this place change!

SS: How long have you been writing?

AB: It feels like I’ve been writing forever! I know that I’ve been actively trying to produce something worthwhile since high school and it’s been a little over two since I started working on my current book.

SS: When did you first realize you wanted to write?

AB: I’m pretty sure it was the moment I finished reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of fire for the first time, at which point I was 11 or 12. I consumed all four books (that I think either came out or were available to me at that point) in one go and I just knew that was the endgame – either to get accepted to Hogwarts or create something equally consuming with whatever magic I have in me. Cheesy, I know, but so it goes, folks!

SS: What do you like to do when you're not writing?

AB: Read. A LOT. Also draw and paint every once in a while,’cause it would be a shame to let eight years of classic art school go to waste. I also have the most all-consuming urge to hike through the forest at least once a week, otherwise I get really anxious and depressed.

SS: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say when you do?

AB: Not as much as I wish I did. I feel like the most comments I get are from people that I meet through book clubs and contests, so I’d be really interested in hearing from people who just stumble over my weird little story all on their own. For now, I’m grateful for all the helpful feedback and constructive criticism, as it makes my stuff that much better!

SS: What do you think makes a good story?

AB: For me it will always be a unique writing style, compelling characters and strong original plot. I also prefer stories that are darker and present a moral challenge or are just plain creepy. I guess, I somehow don’t find absolute good all that believable…

SS: How do you go about writing a chapter?

AB: I prefer my process to be obsessively organized. I tend to think through the entire story before I write anything specific at all, so by the time I go about writing a chapter, I have everything planned and laid out. From there on I study my plan for the chapter, consider it in context of the story in general and just get on with the nitty-gritty. Also, I listen to a song that helps me get in the mood on repeat, until it sort of turns into a white-noise background.

SS: What gives you inspiration?

AB: Mostly, amazing books that I read. My inspiration list at the moment includes Lolita, We Were Liars, Raven Cycle and Mara Dyer Trilogy. Also, some really moody films like Stoker, Like Minds, Side Effects and Moth Diaries. Go check them out, you’re welcome!

SS: Who influences your writing?

AB: Same people that inspire me - Vladimir Nabokov, Maggie Stiefvater, Michelle Hodkin, J.K. Rowling and quite unexpectedly – people here on Wattpad, who help me improve my writing in more ways than I could count.

SS: How would you describe yourself as a writer?

AB: Freaking problematic. That’s the aim at least… I try to be really fearless with what I do, so out goes all the sugar-coating and redeeming. I’m trying to be ruthless and raw, and hope that there are more weirdos like myself out there who might enjoy what comes out of it.

SS: What's your favorite genre to write under?

AB: Young Adult. Which is very broad, but that I feel the most excited about. It’s something about the age of becoming that just does it for me, no matter which way the story goes.

SS: What's one of your favorite stories on Wattpad?

AB: One is too hard! I’ve got three, all written by amazingly talented guys: Freedom by @sporknife Shut Up and Dance by @Sam_le_fou New Elysium by @Red_Leasia

SS: And finally, what's one of your favorite stories you've written on Wattpad?

AB: The one and only – NEW AGE MONSTERS! Fingers crossed it goes places.

 

There you have it - our lovely featured author for May 2018! Head back over to the main Featured Page to check out the up and coming Featured List - including Alice's incredible work, NEW AGE MONSTERS!

And if you would like to enter, check out the contests book on my Wattpad profile for more information! The next featured author could be you...

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page