top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Featured Author [February 2018]


It's been a long time coming, but it's finally that time again! I've been so incredibly lucky to find these next three featured authors. When going to contact them, I was so nervous that the long wait to find out if they'd been picked would have deterred them from the contest. To my surprise, I've found three of the most understand, and talented writers to feature for February, March, and April! Continue reading to find out who our featured author for February is, and head back to the blog's homepage to find out who our two fellow authors are!

For those who are unfamiliar, I have a monthly contest - one that includes the opportunity for all of my readers, both new and old, to be featured on my website, and multiple social media accounts!

That is why, with great pleasure, I am pleased to announce February's featured author, Diana (@dianawrites_official)!

For those who don't know, Diana is an old hat when it comes to writing, and despite her relatively new Wattpad profile, she has been able to create a work of incredible fiction that is definitely worth a read or two.

Since starting this particular profile on Wattpad in December of 2017, she's written 1 book, that being her action packed fantasy novel, Through Her Eyes. Taking on such an ambitious project is nothing new to this incredible author. With five years of writing under her belt, she's seen it all. From starting in fanfiction, to landing in her newest and most noteworthy work, Diana has a knack for this whole writing thing. I would highly suggest finding out what exactly her character Kathy can truly see in the first book of her inspiring series!

Since getting to know Diana, I can tell you that she knows how to write a captivating story. She quickly found that reading was a passion, and when left unsatisfied with certain endings, she found herself writing the ending fans truly deserved. Being an avid traveler helps in creating her utterly alluring worlds within her stories, and her knack for writing expressively and realistically has drawn readers in time and time again; just the way that her novel drew me in! I know Diana is going places, and this is only the beginning of her amazing journey!

I would like to give a personal congratulations to this amazing author! You will be featured both here, and on my Wattpad!

For anyone that would like to get to know her better, check out the interview on my Wattpad, or down below!

 

SS: How long have you been on Wattpad?

DIANA: I've been on and off Wattpad for up to 5 years now. I've had other accounts where I would publish different genres of stories I would write.

SS: How long have you been writing?

DIANA: I started writing when I was about ten years old. I had always loved writing but I started focusing on creating my own stories back then. I watched my favorite cartoons or my favorite movies and I wanted some kind of closure, which led me to start writing fanfiction, continuing those shows in my own stories. It all started there.

SS: When did you first realize you wanted to write?

DIANA: I loved reading since I was young and I was fascinated with the worlds and characters that my favorite authors created. Books helped me a lot through different situations and I always thought that I wanted to be able to do the same, to create something that would help others dive into a new world and find their own shelter, perhaps even a future passion, like I did.

SS: What do you like to do when you're not writing?

DIANA: I love listening to music and hanging out with my friends. Playing video games is also something I adore. I have many hobbies though. I study Tourism, so I do love travelling when I can. It helps me gain inspiration too.

SS: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say when you do?

DIANA: I do tend to get feedback on all of the stories I publish. They talk about the characters I write about, if they feel like they can connect to them somehow, and also about how expressive I tend to be about the different sensations when I set the ambient for a specific part of a chapter. I like to have my readers feel as if they are a part of the story.

SS: What do you think makes a good story?

DIANA: I think what makes a good story is how much the author knows about the world, the plot and the characters they are talking about. Sometimes detail is important because it gives a sense of reality, even when writing about a fantasy world. Also, the characters are extremely important. They need to be people with identity, with personality. Sometimes writers forget that and most of the side characters get lost in the background as if they have no personality of their own. I think all of that makes for a good story, no matter the genre.

SS: How do you go about writing a chapter?

DIANA: It's fairly easy for me to start writing a chapter. I tend to put on some soft music and write down the key points of what I want that chapter to have: the situations the characters will go through, how the plot will go forward, what characters will be in that particular chapter, and so on. After that, I just build it up.

SS: What gives you inspiration?

DIANA: A little bit of everything, really. Music gives me a lot of inspiration, but it's mostly feelings. If I feel relaxed and determined, a wave of inspiration hits me. When I don't feel that way, my friends and family are there to pick me up, so I'm thankful for that.

SS: Who influences your writing?

DIANA: Some of my favorite authors influence my writing a lot. I tend to get feedback from a few friends that write as well and they give amazing reviews on my works, which influences my writing too.

SS: How would you describe yourself as a writer?

DIANA: As a writer, I would describe myself as descriptive and methodical. I am also a writer that researches a lot before writing about certain topics I am not as familiar with.

SS: What's your favorite genre to write under?

DIANA: Mostly fantasy or romance. Sometimes drama.

SS: What's one of your favorite stories on Wattpad?

DIANA: My favorite stories on Wattpad have got to be The Psychic Next Door by YvetteRussell or One Little Spell by arielklontz.

SS: And finally, what's one of your favorite stories you've written on Wattpad?

DIANA: I've only written one story on Wattpad till now, and it is Count The Stars. So ultimately, it is my favorite story that I've written so far.

 

There you have it - our lovely featured author for February 2018! Head back over to the main Featured Page to check out our other two featured authors for the month!

And if you would like to enter, check out the contests book on my Wattpad profile for more information! The next featured author could be you...

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page