top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Featured Author [January 2018]


Happy New Year my readers! I hope the holidays brought you as much joy as they did me - but as always, it's back to the grind! Luckily enough for us, this Monday is getting a bit brighter as we announce our first featured author of 2018!

For those who are unfamiliar, I have a monthly contest - one that includes the opportunity for all of my readers, both new and old, to be featured on my website, and multiple social media accounts!

That is why, with great pleasure, I am pleased to announce January's featured author, Wren (@Wrenella)!

For those who don't know, Wren is a relatively new Wattpad author, but has a writing style that will make you think otherwise!

Since starting on Wattpad just under two months ago she's written 1 book, that being her addicting teen fiction novel, Count The Stars. Though she only started on Wattpad in November of 2017, I for one can assure you all that this is where she belongs. Her brilliant story starts off with a bang (quite literally) in the prologue, and continues as we follow Emerson and her aversion to Christmas after a terrible accident. Count The Stars will take you on a journey you never expected to take, and will continue to reel you in with it's lovable characters and diverse plot.

Since getting to know Wren, I can tell you that she's just as much of a writer as she is a reader. With her wealth of knowledge in teen fiction and her growing adoration for philosophy, it's a wonder that she hasn't crossed your radar's yet. Wren is able to find the light (and the humor) in just about everything. Despite her first book covering a more tragic topic, she knows that there's more to life than just looming in the darker of moments. Her ability to make the most of what her inspiration gives her is incredible to say the least; and though this author isn't one for planning, she has been able to seamlessly string together the first few chapters of her work.

If there's anything more I can say about Wren, it would be that I know she's bound to do great things with her writing and her other passions.

I would like to give a personal congratulations to this amazing author! You will be featured both here, and on my Wattpad!

For anyone that would like to get to know her better, check out the interview on my Wattpad, or down below!

 

SS: How long have you been on Wattpad?

WREN: I've been on Wattpad for over a month now, since November of 2017.

SS: How long have you been writing?

WREN: When it comes to writing, I've been writing since second grade. The first piece I wrote was a poem about tigers, and a Harry Potter fanfic poem, which is really cringy by the way. I had just finished reading the first two parts of it back then.

SS: When did you first realize you wanted to write?

WREN: I first realized that I wanted to write when I began reading numerous books and started thinking that I wanted to do the same thing as well. I wanted people to read what I've written and learn from it. Also, a friend of mine insisted that we write a story (it was unsuccessful), and that made me begin writing as well.

SS: What do you like to do when you're not writing?

WREN: Mostly, I study for school and do homework. I'm not much of a geek, but I make sure I perform well. I go to a music class, so I sing most of the time. I also love painting and calligraphy, so I do that as well. Apart from that, I eat Nutella, watch Youtube, and of course, stay up on Wattpad!

SS: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say when you do?

WREN: As I'm new to Wattpad and do not have a lot of reads, I get very few comments. They're positive and encouraging so far. I also get helpful suggestions as well.

SS: What do you think makes a good story?

WREN: Honestly, I think that writing what you love and making sure you do the best to it is what makes a good story! Originality and humor also play a role, but most importantly, writing from your heart (no matter how cheesy it sounds), is what makes a story stand out and deliver your message.

SS: How do you go about writing a chapter?

WREN: I just write! In all honesty, I'm not a freakish planner or a scheduled writer. I write an outline in my notebook and go about typing the whole thing. After that, I edit it to the best of my ability, ask my friend what she thinks of it, and post it! It's really that simple.

SS: What gives you inspiration?

WREN: Inspiration strikes at odd moments. I don't usually go looking for inspiration, and rather take what happens as an inspiration. It's mostly my family, feel-good songs, and little events that happen in my life.

SS: Who influences your writing?

WREN: A lot of amazing writers. I love J.K. Rowling, Roald Dahl, Suzanne Collins, and pretty much a bunch of others who influence my writing. Right now it's John Green, and I have to say I'm in love with The Fault In Our Stars.

SS: How would you describe yourself as a writer?

WREN: I wouldn't call myself a writer. It seems too professional I guess. I'm relatively new to the online writing world. Mostly, I write in my spare time, give it my best effort, and post only when I'm satisfied with the chapter.

SS: What's your favorite genre to write under?

WREN: My favorite genre is actually Fiction and Philosophy! I'm very interested in metaphysical philosophy, and as I also like to write teen fic, I like to combine both of those. Not in a boring, lecture kind of way. But in a more funnier way.

SS: What's one of your favorite stories on Wattpad?

WREN: One of my favorite stories....okay, there are a LOT of stories that I love on Wattpad, but my most favorite is When My Shift Ends, by @iwearheelys. I love the significance of the story, and in all honesty, I think Cooper is actually the most adorable person ever!

SS: And finally, what's one of your favorite stories you've written on Wattpad?

WREN: I've only written one story on Wattpad till now, and it is Count The Stars. So ultimately, it is my favorite story that I've written so far.

 

There you have it - our lovely featured author for January 2017! Check back in a month for our next featured author!

And if you would like to enter, check out the contests book on my Wattpad profile for more information! The next featured author could be you...

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page