top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Featured Author [November 2017]


Hello again my avid readers! With the first of November comes the time to announce our eleventh featured author of 2017!

For those who are unfamiliar, I have a monthly contest - one that includes the opportunity for all of my readers, both new and old, to be featured on my website, and multiple social media accounts!

That is why, with great pleasure, I am pleased to announce October's featured author, SH Abdalla!

For those who don't know, SH is a relatively new Wattpad author who's found that an original and captivating plot is the key to an amazing story.

Since starting on Wattpad seven (almost eight) months ago she's written 1 book, that being her addictive fantasy novel, Soul Like Feathers (currently unpublished due to editing). Though this is her first work on Wattpad, I for one, have to say that SH is going places. Already she's established herself as a fantasy author, and will soon be embarking on a journey into her new mystery novel (coming soon)

I would suggest you all follow this incredible author for updates on her upcoming work!

Over my short time getting to know SH, I can tell you that she has found her calling - managing to bring to life the world within Souls Like Feathers in such a flawless manner that it's utterly astounding. True to her wishes, I know that she will be remembered not only for her charisma and charm, but for her written word. Despite the short excerpt I have seen of her work, I can tell you that her writing will indeed change you - have you seeing the world in another light and leave you wanting more. These stories have brought out a voice in her, and I know they'll bring out a voice in you, too.

I would like to give a personal congratulations to this amazing author! You will be featured both here, and on my Wattpad!

For anyone that would like to get to know her better, check out the interview on my Wattpad, or down below!

 

SS: How long have you been on Wattpad?

SHA: I've been on Wattpad for 7 months now, and it's soon about to be 8. I would call myself new to Wattpad, actually.

SS: How long have you been writing?

SHA: I have been writing far longer than 7 months. I've always loved writing as a child, and my first story was a Three Little Pigs Fanfiction from when I was six years old.

SS: When did you first realize you wanted to write?

SHA: I first realized I wanted to write was in middle school. It's pretty shocking that it took a while for me to realize that I want to write as a career, and I want to actually show my work to the world.

SS: What do you like to do when you're not writing?

SHA: When I'm not writing, I like to either draw, read, or go for a hike.

SS: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say when you do?

SHA: I tend to hear from readers as I connect with them through Wattpad, and a few mention how original my plot is, while also kindly giving me feedback and tips on writing. They help out a lot!

SS: What do you think makes a good story?

SHA: It's the effort and creativity you put into the story that counts. There are a few stories on Wattpad that seem to be the same plot and ending. I don't have a problem with it, but originality is the most important part to make a story come to life. If every story had the same plot, wouldn't readers finally give up on books? It doesn't matter if you mess up, it's always the first draft that helps us improve. As the famous author of Moby Dick, Herman Melville, once said, "It is better to fail at originality than to succeed in imitation."

SS: How do you go about writing a chapter?

SHA: I usually write one quarter of a chapter every two days, with at least two cups of tea to refresh my brain. Of course, I can't start a chapter without a clear outline of the events that will happen, and I have to create an image to help me visualize and describe scenes and events.

SS: What gives you inspiration?

SHA: I'm crazy when it comes to inspiration, I can tell you that. I don't have an "inspiration object" at all, so one day I could be in my car in the middle of the night staring at a tree, or just simply popping bubble wrap. I don't know if that would help anyone else except for me, because I'm known as random.

SS: Who influences your writing?

SHA: None of my friends or family actually know I write, but one author that influences me a lot is James Patterson and Geronimo Stilton(AKA Elisabetta Dami). James Patterson's range of genres and maturity of books astound me. He can create a humorous kid's book one time, while writing an action-packed adult's novel the next time. As for Geronimo Stilton, she's probably going to be my favorite author forever and ever, and I will probably never stop enjoying her books at all. She allows me to believe I will write as many books as her, and still be able to get readers hooked, no matter the age.

SS: How would you describe yourself as a writer?

SHA: I would describe myself as random, but also original as well. Originality revolves around me, so why not try to be original and creative?

SS: What's your favorite genre to write under?

SHA: My favorite genre to write under would have to be... well, I can't really choose between Fantasy and Mystery! However, I've only written fantasy in Wattpad, so I haven't been experienced with writing Mystery in Wattpad yet, although I currently have an idea for a mystery novel.

SS: What's one of your favorite stories on Wattpad?

SHA: Dead in Bed by @AdrianBirch. Lots of people had read this, and enjoyed it. I don;t really read much books on Wattpad, but this mystery novel had me hooked from the beginning. This was very different from much books I've read, and it's mysterious and intriguing. Besides, it's two stories in one book. Very creative.

SS: And finally, what's one of your favorite stories you've written on Wattpad?

SHA: I've only written one story on Wattpad, called Soul Like Feathers. I love my story because it focuses on a genre and fantasy realm I love. Unfortunately, it's currently unpublished for editing and I'm working on a Mystery book, but I'll put it up as soon as I edit it.

 

There you have it - our lovely featured author for November 2017! Check back next month for our next featured author!

And if you would like to enter, check out the contests book on my Wattpad profile for more information! The next featured author could be you...

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page