top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Featured Author [October 2017]


Hello again my avid readers! With the first of October comes the time to announce our tenth featured author of 2017!

For those who are unfamiliar, I have a monthly contest - one that includes the opportunity for all of my readers, both new and old, to be featured on my website, and multiple social media accounts!

That is why, with great pleasure, I am pleased to announce October's featured author, Misty Hayes!

For those who don't know, Misty is a relatively new Wattpad author who's already found her way into the paranormal rankings on the website!

Since starting on Wattpad two months ago she's written 1 book, that being her paranormal page turner, The Blood Dagger Volume: 1. Though this is her first work on Wattpad, I for one, have to say it's one of the best I've seen! Misty has a way with words, one that leaves me wondering why this book isn't on the New York Times Bestseller list! Even if you're not a fan of paranormal, this book will keep you coming back for more.

I highly recommend it!

Over my short time getting to know Misty, I can tell you that she finds a way to put her passions to the test. This author not only drives herself to write no matter what, but also finds time to direct short films and run marathons! The diverse life that she leads reflects within her writing, making her characters multidimensional and her book utterly intriguing. She knows how to cross genres, keeping the romance to a novel and still holding firm in the paranormal. Her nearly five years writing shows, and hopefully, her dedication to her craft will pay off in more than just success on Wattpad! I have no doubt that this author is going places, and she is definitely one to watch.

I would like to give a personal congratulations to this amazing author! You will be featured both here, and on my Wattpad!

For anyone that would like to get to know her better, check out the interview on my Wattpad, or down below!

 

SS: How long have you been on Wattpad?

MG: I have been on Wattpad for a little over a month now and I'm learning something new everyday.

SS: How long have you been writing?

MG: I have been writing - (or what I refer to it as "torturing myself") for about 5 years, specifically on my Young Adult trilogy series.

SS: When did you first realize you wanted to write?

MG: I guess I've always wanted to dabble in writing ever since I learned how to read; I just never knew how. The hard part was teaching myself patience and how to get through the first draft unscathed....or as unscathed as possible.

SS: What do you like to do when you're not writing?

MG: When I'm not self-torturing myself with writing, I like to self-torture myself with running. Training for my third marathon. I think reading is also just as important as writing so I'm always devouring as much books as I can get my hands on. I also love to direct film - currently working on a short film called "Dawn" my best friend wrote.

SS: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say when you do?

MG: I get comments on my stories and absolutely love them. The best comments are about the shipping between my lead characters. ❤️

SS: What do you think makes a good story?

MG: I think what makes the best stories are anything that makes you escape from reality.

SS: How do you go about writing a chapter?

MG: I think for me I focus more on writing something everyday - whether it's a chapter or 3 pages or just a paragraph. If I can get in the zone that's when I feel the most successful.

SS: What gives you inspiration?

MG: The thing that gives me the most inspiration are the readers who are interested enough in my writing to continue reading. They're the unsung heroes.

SS: Who influences your writing?

MG: I believe in a good underdog story; so anything by JK Rowling, Jim Butcher, Stephen King and (Dean and Sam Winchester...❤️) Spn fan. My best friend who is way better at writing than I am, so her! Definitely her. I'm trying to convince her to put her novel on Wattpad!

SS: How would you describe yourself as a writer?

MG: Professional nerd.

SS: What's your favorite genre to write under?

MG: Young Adult and Teen Fiction - anything that'll transport you to another world. I'm all about escapism.

SS: What's one of your favorite stories on Wattpad?

MG: Relentless by Karen Lynch.

SS: And finally, what's one of your favorite stories you've written on Wattpad?

MG: I only have the one out, The Blood Dagger Volume:1.

 

There you have it - our lovely featured author for October of 2017! Check back next month for our next featured author!

Update as of December 2017: This author has been published! Click here to pre-order her sensational paranormal thriller, The Outcasts - The Blood Dagger Volume: 1! (Barnes&Noble, Amazon)

And if you would like to enter, check out the contests book on my Wattpad profile for more information! The next featured author could be you...

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page