top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Featured Author [September 2017]


Hello again my avid readers! With the first of September comes the time to announce our ninth featured author of 2017!

For those who are unfamiliar, I have a monthly contest - one that includes the opportunity for all of my readers, both new and old, to be featured on my website, and multiple social media accounts!

That is why, with great pleasure, I am pleased to announce August's featured author, Alyssa George!

For those who don't know, Alyssa is an author who's come to find popularity in the world of fanfiction, though now, she's embarking on her own original fiction!

Over first two years on Wattpad, she's written a total of 8 books, her most popular at the moment being her fan fiction, The Salvatore Sister. Though this may be her most popular book, and I would like to refer you all onto it (whether you like Vampire Diaries or not), but I would like to bring your attention back to her non-fiction work, Bullying Stories.

I would like to start off by saying I've been hosting the Featured Author contest since June of 2016, that's 15 authors total, and never since then have I found such a brutally honest work coming from one of our Featured Authors. This was one of the most brave things I've ever seen on Wattpad, and that's just another reason that Alyssa deserves the recognition. Alyssa had the courage to post her story here for the world to see, and it was inspiring to say the least. I do hope that it helped her get through the rough memories and that others will soon come to share their own experiences.

Over my short time getting to know her, she has always been upfront and honest about anything, and knows how to portray real emotions - because this author has lived a lot in her time. Her life experience may not be one to brag about, but she has learned to put those feelings into her writing, and she's doing an amazing job of doing so.

If you guys are looking for an author that portrays emotions and real experiences incredibly, check out any one of her stories - those including her new work Rejected.

I would like to give a personal congratulations to this amazing author! You will be featured both here, and on my Wattpad!

For anyone that would like to get to know her better, check out the interview on my Wattpad, or down below!

 

SS: How long have you been on Wattpad?

AG: I've been on Wattpad for about two years now. I've been on here since fall of 2015 when I started writing fanfics.

SS: How long have you been writing?

AG: I've been writing for a long time, but I really began to write seriously when I was in 6th grade. That's when I found out I wasn't that bad at it and decided that I wanted to be an author.

SS: When did you first realize you wanted to write?

AG: I realized that I wanted to write back in 6th grade when one of my friends asked me to write a book with her and another girl, so of course I accepted. After that we took turns taking the book home and writing in it. Matter of fact I still have the book today, and I am still working on it and revising it. Everyone else had seemed to forgotten about it except for me.

SS: What do you like to do when you're not writing?

AG: When I am not writing I love to act. I have always, since I was little, wanted to be an actress, and from what I heard, everyone knew it too. Now that I finally switched schools I am spending my time getting involved in volunteering and setting up charity events because it is actually really fun to see people so joyful when they receive the help that they needed, not to mention all of the new people you get to meet.

SS: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say when you do?

AG: I do hear from my readers, but not as often as I'd like. When my readers do comment on my stories I reply to all of them (the good ones at least.) And usually, since it's about tvd, because, well, I write fanfics, I can usually relate to me readers and how they feel.

SS: What do you think makes a good story?

AG: I think that it is very noticeable when an author spends time and works hard on their stories, so really all you have to do is care about what you are writing, because it is noticeable.

SS: How do you go about writing a chapter?

AG: Usually when I write a chapter I go over my recent chapters and see where I left off, then I try to portray the emotions that I am feeling into my stories because it makes it that much more real, and I guess that's pretty much it.

SS: What gives you inspiration?

AG: I usually just come up with an idea, work out the kinks, and roll with it, but I love Ellen Hopkins books. They are extremely interesting and I started writing my book Rejection while reading an Ellen Hopkins book. They are so real, and it, in a way, inspired my writing. It makes me want to write more books like rejection because I believe it has the realness that Ellen Hopkins puts into her books.

SS: Who influences your writing?

AG: I don't really show my stories to people I know, but I usually talk about them with my friends. Right now, my new friend Andrea influences my writing. She moved to the US from Honduras about 2 years ago (I think) and when I first went to my new school, we immediately became friends. I told her about one of my books, which I am in the process of writing called She Will Be, and she seemed so interested and said that when I was finished she wanted to read it. So I guess now I am writing for her.

SS: How would you describe yourself as a writer?

AG: I would say that I am a pretty good writer because I spend so much time on my books and try to make them the best they could possibly be. If my books were ever published and put into libraries, they would probably be put into the teen drama or tragedy section. Let's just say I watch a lot of Lifetime movies.

SS: What's your favorite genre to write under?

AG: I LOVE to write teen dramas and tragedies. I believe that is what I'm best at. I feel like I can put so much emotion into the story, that even when I reread it, it will make me cry.

SS: What's one of your favorite stories on Wattpad?

AG: My absolute favorite story on Wattpad would have to be Chasing Red. This book is so interesting, and one of the only books that I cried to while reading it. It has so much emotion (Love, heartbreak, etc.) and I believe this book is truly amazing. I sincerely recommend this book to all of you romance lovers out there.

SS: And finally, what's one of your favorite stories you've written on Wattpad?

AG: My favorite book that I have written and am still writing would have to be Rejection because it is so emotional, and every time I reread it I end up crying again. So, Rejected is about a girl who has been abused by her father and bullied at school for years, and I know this is sad, but one day she decided to attempt suicide. She goes to school for just one more day and meets a boy who treats her like no one had ever done before and he talks her out of it, for the time being at least, and well, I don't want to spoil the rest of the story, so I guess that's it!

 

There you have it - our lovely featured author for September of 2017! Check back next month for our next featured author!

And if you would like to enter, check out the contests book on my Wattpad profile for more information! The next featured author could be you...

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page