top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Featured Author [July 2017]


Hello again my avid readers! With the beginning of July comes the time to announce our seventh featured author of 2017!

For those who are unfamiliar, I have a monthly contest - one that includes the opportunity for all of my readers, both new and old, to be featured on my website, and multiple social media accounts!

That is why, with great pleasure, I am pleased to announce July's featured author, Lucy!

For those who don't know, Lucy is primarily a fan-fiction author who's recently embarked on her first science fiction novel, and it's an amazing debut to put it lightly.

Over first year Wattpad, she's written a total of 7 books, her most popular at the moment being her fan fiction, Cruel Continuations. Though this may be her most popular book, I would like to bring your attention back to her science fiction novel, Eyes. This science fiction story follows two runaways as they travel the dying earth in an attempt to escape the society.

Upon getting to know Lucy a little better, I can tell you that she took her love for media and found a passion for writing. Starting off with fan-fictions centered around Divergent, Lucy quickly saw that this was something that she wanted to pursue. Since she's started posting her work to Wattpad, she has found an onslaught of new readers and fans cropping up with each chapter she's posted. Though it isn't hard to believe, her stories have only gotten better with time, and her most recent science fiction novel, Eyes, is amazing to say the least.

I would like to give a personal congratulations to this amazing author! You will be featured both here, and on my Wattpad!

For anyone that would like to get to know her better, check out the interview on my Wattpad, or down below!

 

SS: How long have you been on Wattpad?

L: I've been on Wattpad for around about a year and a half maybe slightly longer, I don't know exactly.

SS: How long have you been writing?

L: Well I've always been writing in school in English, but my first Wattpad story was in the September of 2016.

SS: When did you first realize you wanted to write?

L: It was when I was really small actually. My mam got me into reading and that really pushed me to want to be like all the authors I'd read. And then I started off writing divergent fan fiction, and the reads on that soared higher than I expected. That got me really encouraged to write my own story, and share my own ideas.

SS: What do you like to do when you're not writing?

L: NETFLIX not the chilling, but I'm addicted to The Vampire Diaries, The Originals, Teen Wolf and Shadowhunters. I've even managed to get myself into Pretty Little Liars, which surprised me. I am also an aspiring archer and I shoot every Sunday, Tuesday and Friday.

SS: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say when you do?

L: I've been really shocked at the comments and feedback I've had from readers, they've all been surprisingly positive. I never expected such nice feedback, I always message or comment on messages boards when people give really nice comments, votes or add my story to their reading list. It's my way of repaying them. They're always like 'I love your story! It's amazing' although it's usually 'please update!' even had one where they said they would definitely buy my book if it was published and that brought me to tears. As it's my dream to do so.

SS: What do you think makes a good story?

L : The plot and the opening. The plot is the core of the story besides the characters themselves, I believe that if your plot is good the rest will fall into place. The opening I believe has to be strong in order to capture your readers.

SS: How do you go about writing a chapter?

L: I have a playlist dedicated to my stories on my phone, I usually listen to them for inspiration. Or consult my notes on my phone, which consists of over a hundred (they're in need of organisation!). I start with the music and I consider every aspect of what I want to happen and what I will describe. Who does this and etc.

SS: What gives you inspiration?

L: Music is a definite. That's how most of my plots are formed, the words sometimes spark something in my mind and I think oh that would make a good story and note it down. But author wise, I would have to say JK Rowling.

SS: Who influences your writing?

L: I'd have to say everyone, every comment or vote here on Wattpad. The way if I've done something good or something I'm proud of, reactions of people (not just on Wattpad but my friends and family) is what influences me to keep going.

SS: How would you describe yourself as a writer?

L: Hard one. I'd like to say excited, as whenever I think of something I'm proud of I always get really excited to write it down on Wattpad and get it started. But I'm also an active writer, I live on my phone and every comment that pops up I immediately reply to. In a non stalker-ish sense, of course.

SS: What's your favorite genre to write under?

L: Science Fiction definitely. Although I love my fanfics, Sci-Fi is my fave.

SS: What's one of your favorite stories on Wattpad?

L: That's way too hard for me to answer, I've read so many books that I love. But if I had to choose it would be 'Waffle Cones' by @evethespy it's so adorable.

SS: And finally, what's one of your favorite stories you've written on Wattpad?

L: My science fiction story Eyes, I'm so proud of the quality of my writing in that book and the plot I've got planned. But all my works are loved <3

 

There you have it - our lovely featured author for July of 2017! Check back next month for our next featured author!

And if you would like to enter, check out the contests book on my Wattpad profile for more information! The next featured author could be you...

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page