top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Featured Author [December 2016]


Happy Holidays, everyone! Honoring the holidays, it's time to announce our next featured author!

For those who are unfamiliar, I have started a contest - one that includes the opportunity for all of my readers, both new and old, to be featured on my website, and multiple social media accounts!

That is why, with great pleasure, I am pleased to announce December's featured author, Octavia (@OctaviaLocke)!

For those who don't know her, Octavia is a fiction author. Over first few months on Wattpad, she's written a total of three stories, her most popular at the moment being her story, Liars.

Upon getting to know Octavia over the last few days, I can tell you that she is incredibly whimsical, imaginative, fun, and very detail oriented. Starting out as a reader, she quickly found that she wanted to try posting stories. Despite her short time here, her story, Liars, is absolutely captivating. She has one of the coolest ideas I've had the chance to see come to life here on Wattpad. This author definitely knows her way around a novel.

I would like to give a personal congratulations to this amazing author! You will be featured both here, and on my Wattpad!

For anyone that would like to get to know her better, check out the interview on my Wattpad, or down below!

 

SS: How long have you been on Wattpad?

O: I haven't been on Wattpad too long, maybe since October. I definitely started out only wanting to be a reader but then I decided to go for it and started uploading my own tales.

SS: How long have you been writing?

O: I've been writing for as early as I can remember. When I was in elementary school, I won second place for a story I wrote; the theme was about what you would wish for. I wished for fruit trees in our backyard. Thing was, we had all sorts of apple, peach, and cherry trees already in our yard at the time. (No one ever found that out though).

SS: When did you first realize you wanted to write?

O: When did I realize I wanted to write? It was never a realization just a passion of mine. It wasn't until I grew up that I thought maybe, just maybe, I could make my passion into my career; something I'm still working on to this day.

SS: What do you like to do when you're not writing?

O: I love to watch anime, read manga, books, and comics, listen to K-Pop, and play video games.

SS: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say when you do?

O: I do hear from my readers and they are simply delightful! They always give me feedback (whether good or on areas I can improve upon) and their attentiveness to my stories gives me the encouragement to continue uploading to Wattpad and pursuing my dream.

SS: What do you think makes a good story?

O: I think a good story needs to have great world building. That's what I always look for. I hate when there's plot holes glaring at you while you read and try to stay immersed in the story. Tolkien and Martin are top notch world builders in my opinion.

SS: How do you go about writing a chapter?

O: How I go about writing a chapter? Oh my. I really just write. It's hard to explain but a story kind of comes to mind and then I see it unfold in my mind kind of like a movie. And then all I'm there to do is write it down and try (and hope) I describe it accurately enough to allow others to see it as I have.

SS: What gives you inspiration?

O: Anything can give me inspiration. I have a story I've been working on about flowers that came from looking at my mother's garden. It was summer, the lilies were in bloom and I thought what if flowers-things of beauty-had tragic back stories? And so I started writing that tale.

SS: What's one of your favorite stories on Wattpad?

O: One of my favorites on Wattpad? Hard one. I've found so many gems on this site. I guess if I had to choose, it would be a story called, "A Trail of a Golden Thread" by panjean17. Definitely a great fantasy/adventure story.

SS: And finally, what's one of your favorite stories you've written on Wattpad?

O: My favorite story that I've done on Wattpad has definitely got to be "Everything Included". It was so much fun to write and I love it's whimsical nature. Nothing beats writing about Pirate Captains, boys who become crows, and Phil Collins.

 

There you have it - our lovely featured author for December of 2016! Check back next month for our next featured author!

And if you would like to enter, check out the contests book on my Wattpad profile for more information! The next featured author could be you...

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page