top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Featured Author [January 2017]


Happy New Year, everyone! Honoring the the new year, it's time to announce our first featured author of 2017!

For those who are unfamiliar, I have started a contest - one that includes the opportunity for all of my readers, both new and old, to be featured on my website, and multiple social media accounts!

That is why, with great pleasure, I am pleased to announce January's featured author, Emmy (@BillyXXUnger)!

For those who don't know, Emmy is a fan-fiction author for Lab Rats, and The Flash.

Over her almost three years on Wattpad, she's written a total of four books, her most popular at the moment being her book, Captured.

Her book Captured also won Best Overall Fanfic in the 2014 Lab Rats Fanfic Award Show.

Upon getting to know Emmy over the last few years, I can tell you that she is a dedicated author, one with amazing passion and attention to detail. She writes the best action stories, which are tough to write for most people. The fight scenes illustrated in her book Captured (highly recommended) will leave you feeling as though you saw the fight in person.

Another wonderful thing about Emmy, she's imaginative. With her stories being loosely based off of shows, she's still able to add depth to these characters that we already know and love.

I would like to give a personal congratulations to this amazing author! You will be featured both here, and on my Wattpad!

For anyone that would like to get to know her better, check out the interview on my Wattpad, or down below!

 

SS: How long have you been on Wattpad?

E: I've been on Wattpad for a while now. I joined back in March, 2014 but didn't officially start writing until May that year.

SS: How long have you been writing?

E: I've been writing on Wattpad since May, 2014, but have being writing little stories for myself off the site for as long as I can remember. However, my writing didn't really start to kick off until I joined a writing group in 2012, which really began to fuel my passion.

SS: When did you first realize you wanted to write?

E: As soon as I began reading I've wanted to write. I've always been fascinated by the intricate ideas and details authors use and wanted to replicate those into my own style of writing.

SS: What do you like to do when you're not writing?

E: I'm a relatively active person, so I'm generally found playing sports such as tennis, swimming and soccer. I also love painting (especially with water color), reading and making video edits for my other fandoms on Instagram.

SS: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say when you do?

E: I hear from my readers all the time! Whether it be in the comments of one of my books or as a privet message, I really love connecting them. They usually tell me how they feel about my writing, giving me feedback on chapters and what they were felling while reading it. Some of them also like to talk to me about their personal life too, which is always really interesting.

SS: What do you think makes a good story?

E: Obviously good spelling and grammar, but also the uniqueness of the plot. The story really needs to captivate me for me to continue reading, so anything that doesn't seem natural from the characters or seems repetitive or cliché tends to put me off.

SS: How do you go about writing a chapter?

E: I have a file of notes on my computer which has lists of ideas I've previously put down containing things such as: character growths, ideas for coming chapters, what I'd like the end game to be, etc. Before I start writing, I look at previous chapters I've written (to avoid continuity errors), as well as my notes. I plan out what I'd like to happen in the chapter and free write from there.

SS: What gives you inspiration?

E: I don't have a specific way of gaining inspiration - most ideas just come to me randomly. However, sometimes I do gain ideas from overhearing other people's conversation, hearing certain lyrics while listening to music, watching clips from shows or movies, or taking tiny experiences of my own and exaggerating it into something a lot bigger, working it into the story. However, as I said before, most ideas just come to me from my overactive imagination.

SS: What's one of your favorite stories on Wattpad?

E: I don't have a specific favorite book on Wattpad as it's always changing. However, I'm currently reading a three-part series called 'Lets Play A Game' which I'm thoroughly enjoying! It's about some of my favorite YouTube gamers who have to live through a world where all of their worst nightmares and fears become a reality. It has amazing writing and some dark ideas with really captivate the reader. The character development in it is also very fascinating as most of them do take a dark turn.

SS: And finally, what's one of your favorite stories you've written on Wattpad?

E: I really hate being asked this question because, being the modest person I am, I generally tend to dislike most of the things I write. I guess it's fair to say that I am my own worst critic, as I often re-read my older stories, from back in 2014, and constantly wonder how any of it did well. However, I did really enjoy writing the darker chapters, especially the last couple of chapters, in my story 'Captured', as I found it really alluring and thrilling writing the darker side of the characters whom are usually depicted as the happier sort.

 

There you have it - our lovely featured author for January of 2017! Check back next month for our next featured author!

And if you would like to enter, check out the contests book on my Wattpad profile for more information! The next featured author could be you...

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page