top of page
  • Caroline @jinglegerard

First Chapters - Put Another X On The Calendar by Caroline @jinglegerard


Hello everyone and welcome to my blog! For the ENTIRE month of December, we'll be seeing content like this from both myself, and from the Featured Authors (going all the way back to the beginning!). Along with each of us sharing first chapters from our novels (all on, or soon to be on, Wattpad!), we'll also be getting an inside look into everyone's writing process, book reviews, and even better - getting to know the contestants trying for Featured Author of The Year 2019! Stick around for the fun!

 

Now over to Caroline:

Hey everyone! I’m Caroline (or you can call me Drennie), and I’m a 14 year old fanfiction author from Cornland, aka boring old Iowa. I have two sisters and a brother and I’ve been on Wattpad since April of 2015 (damn it sounds like a long time when you say it like that)!

I was featured author back in November of 2016 and have done a lot of stuff with Shay and featured author since then- I’m glad to say I’m lucky enough to see Shay as a writing mentor (and a v close internet friend of mine). I’m most proud of my book Put Another X On The Calendar, but I’ve actually recently grown quite proud of a book that I’m currently working on that isn’t on my page yet called State Of The Art. I’m excited for everyone to see it when I’m finished with it! I’m going to keep my introduction short as I think I’ve crossed paths with most of the other featured authors before, but I’m very excited to be helping out with the Get Together!

I’m going to be sharing the first chapter of my book Put Another X On The Calendar as I’m very proud of it and if you enjoy the prologue I’d appreciate you checking out the rest!

I hope you enjoy it, and now here’s Put Another X On The Calendar!

 

© vicesgerard. All Rights Reserved.

Put Another X On The Calendar

Chapter 1

Imagine smiling after a slap in the face, then think of doing it twenty-four hours a day. Like most misery, mine started with apparent happiness. I was a teenage kid with a mom who was an alcoholic, a dad who was a drug addict, and an older sister who was never home.

I used to think that was hard. Little did I know. I thought that things couldn't get worse, but I was so far from the truth. Which is, things can always get worse. And more often than not, they do.

Brendon Boyd Urie was the worst thing that ever happened to me. But, he was also the hardest to let go of. There was something about him that always pulled me back to him quicker than a boomerang. May it be his strong arms, his loving voice, or his hair that was so easy to run your fingers through, I may never know.

He was perfection, and that's what always caused everyone's downfall. At first, he seemed like the sweetest person ever, only to turn into a deadly poison that would burn your lungs until there was nothing left.

That's what happened to me, and as I continuously write these letters, things are getting worse. I'm deteriorating until I'm physically nothing, and there's nothing left.

 

Short and sweet, but I know I'm hooked all over again!

Let's give a round of applause to Caroline! She's been one of the Featured Author's that I've had the privilege of keeping close with over the years. She's also my writing men-tee :D So much love heading your way my darling! <3

We'll be seeing more from her throughout the month of December!

Click the heart below to show your love!

7 views0 comments
bottom of page