top of page
  • Fernando @fernandosimplyme

First Chapters - Familia Translates to Family by Fernando @fernandosimplyme


Hello everyone and welcome to my blog! For the ENTIRE month of December, we'll be seeing content like this from both myself, and from the Featured Authors (going all the way back to the beginning!). Along with each of us sharing first chapters from our novels (all on, or soon to be on, Wattpad!), we'll also be getting an inside look into everyone's writing process, book reviews, and even better - getting to know the contestants trying for Featured Author of The Year 2019! Stick around for the fun!

 

Now over to Fernando:

Hey guys. I'm Fernandosimplyme or just call me Fern. I was featured in August 2016. I'm gonna be sharing with you my most favorite, I know that was incorrect, but this story was my favorite. I started it in 3 years ago, but currently editing it, and it should be done soon.

Thank you and enjoy.

 

© fernandosimplyme . All Rights Reserved.

Familia Translates To Family

Chapter 1

True Colors -

But I see your true colors

Shining through

Maya's P.O.V

"Lucas, I was thinking," I shouted from the kitchen.

"You were thinking. Ha. That's not a good thing." Lucas mocked me.

"I was thinking, since we have been married for a year and a half now, maybe we can adopt." I smiled at him while he walked in the kitchen.

"Can I think about it?" Lucas asked. I nodded.

"And your answer is.." I said in a sing-songy voice.

"Okay. But, only two children. Three max. I'm not trying to lose sleep over fifteen children." Lucas laughed at the ending. I did too. It was kind of funny.

"Okay then. Tuesday we can go to the agency" I smiled putting dinner for him on the island.

Tuesday

"Lucas, I was thinking we can get two kids or three. Yes, definitely three. I want two boys and a girl." I was about to burst out of my seat. I really wanted kids. But, I just never wanted to have kids of my own.

"Whatever you want sweetheart." Lucas kissed me on the cheek.We were waiting in the waiting room. We had to be seen first. I was looking all around. I just wanted these kids to have a family. That's partially the reason why I didn't want to have kids of my own.

"Mr. and Mrs. Friar, the caseworker will see you now." The desk receptionist told us.Lucas held my hand and we went in. The office was beige. Like any other office. Lucas worked in an office but he had the audacity to put some color though.

"Please, have a seat." The lady greeted us. I checked on her desk. Her name was Mrs. Shills. "So, since the agency did a background check a couple days ago, when you applied, everything is in order. Nothing is stopping you from adopting kids. But, since you are, there are some things we have to tell you. We have a routine check every couple of months. And after we see that everything is normal, we will stop coming. Any questions?" We both shook our head no. I did that thing Riley does when she' excited. You know, the yay thing that, but in my head.

"How many kids will you guys be adopting?" She asked.

"Three."

"Two." I looked at Lucas with a stare.

"Lucas, we talked about this. You agreed with me when I said three. Mrs. Shills we are adopting three children." I nodded my head.

She wrote something down on her notepad. Until she got up and told us to follow her to this room where all the cute little children are. "Adopt whoever you will like. Note that some of them are a package deal." She walked out the room closing the door behind her.

Lucas decided that it would be better if we browse together instead of separately. I grabbed Lucas's hand and walked over to this cutest kid that was playing with his trucks and an older boy a couple feet away from him, just watching.

"Hey, cutie. What's your name?" I asked in my cutest little mommy voice.

"I'm Mason and I'm six and a half." I touched my chest. He had the cutest little voice.

"I'm Maya and this is Lucas."

"How would you like to come home with us?" Lucas asked sitting down next to him.

"Alone?" Mason questioned raising a brow.

"No, with two other kids from here." I gestured to the rest of the room.

"Okay, but-" Mason looked back. I'm guessing that the older boy was his best friend. Or his bodyguard. "My brother has to come with me. I go nowhere without him."

"Oh okay." I looked up and walked over to Mason's brother. "Hi, I'm Maya." I put on a smile. I tried making a good first impression.

"I'm Matt and I'm fourteen." He stood up from his chair.

"So, would you like us to adopt you?" I pulled up a chair and sat next to him.

"Are you gonna give us back, like every other family?" He got serious. He looked at me like he gave up. Like he's done being in the system.

"No, we're not. We want what's best for you kids." He nodded and I stood up.

Lucas picked up Mason. I looked around for a girl. I picked two boys because, Lucas thought of it as this way, one kid would be momma's boy and one will be both a momma's boy and a father's child. And the girl is obviously daddy's little princess. Lucas motioned me to go over to the girl in the corner talking to her friend.

I shook my head no. I looked over to the other side of the room. A girl, couldn't be that much older than ten, eleven, years old. She was reading a book. I walked over to her and bent over.

"Hi. I'm Maya. What's your name?" I touched her knee to get her attention.

"I'm Ciara and I'm nine years old." She smiled brightly like she was a puppy getting picked.

"C'mon Ciara. You're coming home with us." I grabbed her hand and we walked out of the room.Lucas handled all of the paperwork, while I was in the car with the kids.

"So, welcome to the family. I'm Maya, your new mom. And Lucas, your dad, is inside." I turned off the radio, looking towards the back of the car.

"Well, nice to meet you, Maya. I just wanted to tell you. I cannot share a room with Mason. He pees the bed." Matt put on his seat-belt. I laughed and nodded

"I do not," Mason argued.

"I don't care what room I get." Ciara just picked up her book again. I liked her. Reading books. I liked that.

Lucas got to the car. He got in and started driving home. "Today is gonna be a disaster. I can feel it."

"You're telling me. Whenever Mason and I get adopted, always on the first day, something bad happened." Matt looked out the window.

"Well, today is gonna be different. I can feel it" I turned around and smiled. I hope.

 

With the authors from 2016, and a few from 2017, we were all so close when they won their contest and it's been SO cool to see them grown as writers. Fernando - I'm so happy to hear that you're coming back to writing! The new edit of Familia is going to be incredible!

Let's give a round of applause to Fernando!

We'll be seeing more from him throughout the month of December!

Click the heart below to show your love!

7 views0 comments
bottom of page