top of page
  • Caroline @jinglegerard

Flashback Friday - Reacting to My First Fanfiction by Caroline @jinglegerard


Hello everyone and welcome to my blog! For the ENTIRE month of December, we'll be seeing content like this from both myself, and from the Featured Authors (going all the way back to the beginning!). Along with each of us sharing first chapters from our novels (all on, or soon to be on, Wattpad!), we'll also be getting an inside look into everyone's writing process, book reviews, and even better - getting to know the contestants trying for Featured Author of The Year 2019! Stick around for the fun!

 

Now over to Caroline:

Hey everyone! I’m Caroline (or you can call me Drennie), and I’m a 14 year old fanfiction author from Cornland, aka boring old Iowa. I have two sisters and a brother and I’ve been on Wattpad since April of 2015 (damn it sounds like a long time when you say it like that)! I was featured author back in November of 2016 and have done a lot of stuff with Shay and featured author since then- I’m glad to say I’m lucky enough to see Shay as a writing mentor (and a v close internet friend of mine).

I’m most proud of my book Put Another X On The Calendar, but I’ve actually recently grown quite proud of a book that I’m currently working on that isn’t on my page yet called State Of The Art. I’m excited for everyone to see it when I’m finished with it! I’m going to keep my introduction short as I think I’ve crossed paths with most of the other featured authors before, but I’m very excited to be helping out with the Get Together! Today I’m going to be reacting to some of my old writing.

On first thought I automatically had an idea to react to my first ever original story, but I had already been working on a reaction to it for my rant book so I decided against it and chose to react to this one instead. As most of you probably know, writing gets better over time- so I’m slightly scared to be reading this. Oops. I learned recently that if you had a story in your library, even if it’s been deleted you will still be able to read it on the mobile app- which means that a bunch of my old stuff is saved in my library- including old covers, summaries, and all. So today I’ll be looking at my first real fanfiction- a Warrior Cats fanfiction I wrote in the fourth/fifth grade called Moonclan (Warriors), written in journal entries I’m guessing from the point of view of the cats?? I wrote this with my cousin Addie when we were 9 (me) and 11 (her). I’m mildly horrified. Let’s just go before I procrastinate out of doing this.

[Original text will be in italics, my thoughts will be in regular text]

 

Hi! I am Windkit. My sister Starpaw is here too. We are not normal Warriors. We live on our own. We don’t live in a clan like other Warriors

More info later,

Windkit and Starpaw

Ok ok ok so I remember that we wrote this on some old sketchy notepad website (I looked because I was intrigued, but I can’t find the website anywhere and even though I looked up everything it could have been called I can’t find it anywhere, almost like it never existed; did we go into a parallel universe?; are we in a Mandela effect? I even texted my cousin and asked if she knew what it was called and even though she knew exactly what I was talking about she couldn’t find it either,,, I’m a little weirded out by that) knowing that no one would see it unless they actually went looking for Warrior’s fanfiction on this website but then I posted it when I first got Wattpad because I would have been in the fifth grade and still writing it when I got permission from my mom to make an account (actually that’s a lie I didn’t get permission oops I just made it when I was underage). I’m already upset at myself for doing this, let’s just keep going.

Hey y’all-

I now am an warrior! Yay me! I also need a mate. I am a beautiful cat, smart, sassy. I need a mate. There. Simple.

Call me,

Star

This is so funny to me that we thought that this was actually good but I think a lot of people’s writing is like that. Like they think it’s good until they read it to someone and then are like, “crap this is really bad” but I didn’t realize it was bad until like late sixth grade which was when I took it down oops. Also it’s so funny to me that my cousin wrote this like an ad that other cats might see and reach out to her about XD (For context all of the ones by Starclaw/Starsterplin/Star/Starry/etc. were written by Addie, I’m just including them so that the story flows whatsoever)

Yes! Yes! Yes! I am now an apprentice! All hail Windpaw! Oh yeah I have an adopted brother named Grasspaw. I think he really gets on Starclaw’s nerves. Now I guess because I am an apprentice I need a mate. I did not choose this as my fate. Sorry. Mind my rhyming! I want to run wild all my life. But I guess that is not a choice. Now I have to be the one who needs to put out a wanted mate add. Starclaw is now an oh what do you call it….she isn’t a apprentice anymore but she is not an elder either. Oh well. She at least found her perfect match. And now they have a baby coming. I wish that was me.

Feeling depressed,

Windpaw

I love that I thought it was important to randomly say that I had a brother named Grasspaw. Like, I’m sure that was so v important for my readers to know (also for context- something that’s funny- this fic had like 10K reads which is my most read book I ever had on my page; like people actually read this XD). Also, I remember that Grasspaw was literally based off my little brother- who didn’t get along with Addie haha. Ah yes I’m sure now that I’m an apprentice that means I automatically need a mate. Also, honey, I don’t remember a lot about Warriors but I’m pretty positive that the title of a cat after apprentice and before elder is called a, huh I wonder, WARRIOR. I was the bit dumb at this age. Wait so I wish I was the pregnant one? Wasn’t I just complaining about not wanting to get a mate? I’m so confused? Who knows anymore.

Hello again. Starclaw’s baby has came. Now they call her a birth mother which makes no sense. Does that make sense to you? It does not make sense to me. Oh good news! I have a mate! His name is Sparkclaw. Starclaw is a warrior. I have a kitten coming which i guess means i will be a birth mother too.

Luv ya lots,

Windpaw

Uh kiddo you do know that a birth mother is like the term for a biological mother in terms of like adoption and legal guardians it’s not what being a housewife is called. Once again proof of me being a big dumbo as a little kid. Also EW EW EW I just want to let you all just think about the fact that Sparkclaw was my cousin Eli’s cat oc…

I’m just gonna let that sink in

And I have a kitten coming with him (aaa no what was past me thinking) (answer: I was too lazy to make another cat so we used the name of Eli’s cat it probably isn’t actually Eli’s cat but that’s still weird to me ew ew ew)

Starclaw here! I have gotten board of being named Starclaw, So I have a New Name! Starasterplin is my new name! Yeah, I know, It dosent make much sense but i like it anyway. Anyway, Wndpaw- oops, i mean WINDCLOUD has a kitten now. We dont have a name for her yet but she will have one once we know what she is like. I'm thinking Tigerkit, but she thinks the should be named Lilykit… Hey! how about we name her Tigerkit and then when she becomes a warrior, she ill be called Tigerlily! Thats perfect! Ow, my ears hurt… I guess thats all for today!

Ta-Ta

~Starasterplin

Wtf kind of name is Starasterplin?? Someone explain this to me?? I’m pretty positive no cat in Warriors ever had that kind of name like there were weird ones but not something like Starasterplin?? Also my cousin needs to learn to spell- that’s what we’ve learned from this. “Dosent” me too. Also I still think we should have named her Lilykit and then have her be called Lilywater or something idk anymore. Also same my ears hurting is a good reason to stop writing (me when I’m coming up with excuses not to write Put Another X On The Calendar- those of you who are my readers know what I’m talking about).

SSQQUUUEEEEEE!!! Oh, sorry, this is Star! Stonewing, my mate, and I are having another kitten! Once again, I am a birth mother. I’m so EXITED!!!! Windclouds grammar in her earlier entries bother me. Maybe I will go back and fix them. Windcloud says hi, she just left to go hunting with Sparkclaw. I will stay behind with Tigerkit, and Mosskit. I didn’t tell you that I had named my first kitten Mosskit! I have A LOT of time. wait, the kittens need something…. Bye!

Ta-Ta

~Starasterplin

“SSQQUUUEEEEEE” me too Addie. “I’m so EXITED” why are all her typos big moods? Wow, my grammar needs fixing? What about yours? (actually I’m sure that my grammar was crap I could have cared less about spelling and punctuation back then; but I fixed it in the chapters apparently).

Aloha! Windcloud here! Star told me to go fix my grammar in the first few entries, so I did. It looks much-and I mean MUCH-better. Good news! Star and Stones had their next kit! I think I might be pregnant again. Birth mother again. Damn! I hate but LOVE being a birth mother! Mosskit is an apprentice now. Yay! More cats to help with hunting.

Luv ya lots,

Birth Mother Windcloud :-)

“Aloha” me too past me, we love a Hawaiian queen. It’s probably a good thing I fixed it and don’t remember what it actually looked like. “Stones” what kind of nickname is that I’m- also “I think I might be pregnant again” honestly me as a cat just “oh crap I think my mate knocked me up again oops.”“Damn!” OOH we got the first time I swore in this I’m sure my readers who were all probably my age if they were reading Warrior Cats fanfiction were appalled by my English. Also that smiley face at the end we love a trendy queen (I was so cringy as a 8/9 year old wtf)

Hey! I'm guessing Wind already told you about Mosspaw… and our other kit, Ravenkit. He has amazing shiny black fur. He will surly find a mate at an early age. I will soon be putting out a mate wanted ad for Mosspaw. She is very eager to find a mate and she is a very beautiful tortoiseshell cat, so I dont think it will take long. Wind and Spark are going out to recruit more cats for the clan we are starting! I simply cannot wait until they get back!

Very excited!

Starasterplin

Uh, yeah Addie, I did already tell them. And oh wow we’re starting our own clan that’s intense (also the amount of times I’ve typed clan as clam in the past ten minutes is extremely funny).

Heyo! Windy here. I can’t believe that we have SO MANY cats in our clan! But I do kind of feel bad that we had to take cats from to legs. Wait. No I don’t! Anyways, they wanted to come! I tried to recruit a dog named Zelda, but Sparks just screamed when he saw her. I guess most of us don’t like dogs. But what if we had a dog bodyguard?! Other cats would be way to scared of it to come near! It would be great protection! Hey! Mosspaw is becoming a Warrior tomorrow. We long await Mosssong!

Luv ya lots,

Windy

Wow we clearly did our first time skip here if now we have a bunch of cats lmao. “To legs” me too. And aww Zelda is Addie’s dog- we love her she’s really feisty but really sweet (also oml they’ve had Zeldie that long?? Wow I need to get caught up on how fast time is moving). Also, yeah, a dog bodyguard would be badass no one would even touch our land. “We long await Mosssong” why is that the most awkward sentence ever haha. (Also on the topic of awkward- Mosssong always looked so weird to me like having three s in a row always looked funny. I always thought I put one too many when I would type it. Idk anymore)

Well, I guess I don’t need to put out a mate wanted ad for Mosssong…… She has already found a mate! I should be happy, but I’m not…. Her mate is a fox! Of all the amazing toms we have in the clan, she chose a fox! Of all the VILE creatures she could have chosen… A FLUFFING FOX?!??!? I’m so angry! AND TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE, SHE IS GOING TO GIVE BIRTH TO HIS PUPS- or kits… I don’t know… I need to sleep… this is all probably a dream…

Goodnight,

Starasterplin

I mean, you should still be happy like that’s discrimination- that’s like being racist like “I’m not happy bc my daughter’s husband looks like this” just because he’s a fox doesn’t mean he’s bad necessarily. Also oml saying “fluffing” instead of “f*cking” that’s honestly the most proof that we were still little kids writing this.

Ello. I feel real bad for Starry. Did she tell you that Mossy is mates with a fluffing fox? Like serious, he could murder us cats! Huh? Oh. Ravenkit. Coming! Bye see you later.

Luv ya lots,

Windy

“Ello” aaa that’s the most awkward thing I’ve ever read. And why yes she did tell us oh my goodness a fluffing fox

Also I love me saying like “Huh? Oh. Ravenkit. Coming!” like I’m trying to make it seem like this is happening in real time (I think the funniest part is that I typed my responses to him).

Ello. I know that Starry would enter now but she is so mad at Mossy that she went to the rock and hasn’t came back for 2 days. And she is just sitting there not eating anything. I tried to make her eat something, but she wouldn’t eat. I’m getting worried!

Help!

Windy

Wow she was so mad about her daughter’s mate that she wouldn’t write a journal entry? That’s harsh. She must really be mad XD

Hi. She still is not back. But at least she is eating. But all she eats is fish. At least it has protein. I’ll try to call her back.

Luv ya lots,

Windy

At least she’s eating yeah. Does fish have protein? Idk anymore

I’m back…. I feel depressed….I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do...maybe I will go for a walk...no...I’ll just continue to sulk in the nursery….even the kittens cannot cheer me up….you know what? I’m going for a walk….maybe I will hunt…uhrg,

Starasterplin

Wow ok we have an upset cat here maybe she needs a hug?? Or a cup of tea?? Some crackers?? But yes go for a walk, that helps. I’m so tired with this wtf we were both complaining and grasping at straws for a plot haha

Oh what a beautiful day today is! I’m so absolutely happy! I went for a walk and saw the fox who was mosssong’s mate. Asked him what he did to my poor daughter and he told me it was simple brainwash! He said the only way to stop it was to kill him, so I did! After I went back to the camp, Mosssong came up to me and was a crying mess, she told me how sorry she was and how there was no way to undo the damage that had been done. After all, she is still going to have his pups...they are due any day now. I am almost excited! Almost…

Feeling happy!

Starasterplin

Ok a lot just happened in the last entry- so the fox brainwashed Mossy to have kits with him?? How does that work? Ok so Starasterplin went on her walk and then met and killed him? That’s really violent wow.

Hi. I am super nervous about the fox-cat-kitten-pup hybrid things Mossy is pregnant with! Are you? I totally do not know what they are going to eat, are they more cat than fox, are they more fox that cat? Oh I’m SO frazzled!

Luv ya lots,

Windy

You’re frazzled? What about Mosssong? She’s the one having the kits! They could be deformed, they could not even look like a cat, and you’re the frazzled one?

The kits have been born! I was SO SO SO scared when they were coming but when they came out, they looked exactly like normal kits! I suppose they were a bit larger and they had fox markings, all except one. The runt of the litter. She was just a normal tortoiseshell, like Mosssong! They all look adorable.. I’ll admit, I was super scared. But now I am super relieved!

With kitten love,

Starasterplin

That’s good that they’re basically normal. I’m happy :) Oh crap am I getting invested in this story? Back up back up back up- no, I will NOT actually care about what’s happening (I’m in denial because Mosssong was my favourite when we wrote this and I have a soft spot for her oops).

Hello! The kits came, the kits came, the kits came!!!!! Sorry. Now I’m ashamed of my actions. Well, not really. I lied!!! I was S-O so nervous when I sat there watching my niece give birth. At least her mom came. Nobody else even came! It’s a disgrace! That’s what the apprentices said at least.

Luv ya lots,

Windy

Sis we been know that the kits came, Starasterplin already told us. Step your game up, tell us new info! Was me saying “I’m ashamed of my actions. Well, not really. I lied!!!” necessary? Probably not. Also same “I was S-O so nervous.” The S-O for emphasis like I don’t know how to spell so is nice. Well you don’t say that her mom came, if Starry didn’t I’d be offended and questioning her parenting skills. Wait so do other cats usually come to these birthing sessions (? Idk what to call it haha)? Idk about you but that’s weird to me. Also, these apprentices don’t sound very nice.

Heyo everybody! The kits are doing towts great! I am SO proud of Mossy! She is taking care of them wonderfully well! You know how I said I thought I thought I was pregnant again a while ago? Well it ends up I was right! I am due in three days! SO excited!!!!!!

Luv ya lots,

Windy The Birth Mother

“Towts great” same. Wait so I didn’t know I was pregnant until three days before giving birth to them? I don’t think that’s how this works honey.

Hi! Its Mosssong! I know its kinda strange that I am typing on here but i wanted to share the names of the fox-kits! the two males are Redkit and Foxkit, and the two she-cats are Scarletkit and Mintkit! Im so happy they dident turn out deformed.. or like real foxes.. that would be bad!

Meow! Mosssong

Mossy! (My bean we stan) Hi! Also those names are so cute wtf we love a creative naming queen (I’m going insane).

Hey, Its Star! I hope that Windy’s kits get born soon! Im so excited! The fox-kits are soooo cute! I want one for my apprentice! well, time to update the clan list! I will be adding the mentors for apprentices and the apprentices for the warriors. Somthing to fill up the large amount of time I have, not having a kit or apprentice… I will update so Windy, make shure you check the clan board!

Udpating….

Starasterplin

Well Star’s opinion on the kits changed after they were born XD Ooh! Is this is the first time I posted the clan list? I remember that we had readers on the website we originally wrote this on that followed the clan list. There was a girl named Ash(?) I think was her name who had asked if she could write a fanfic about the kits like a fic for our fic and that was insane to me. I remember we’d hooked the account to my email and I got an email from her about it and Idk if she ever wrote it haha

OMG. I can not believe what happened. No. You won’t want to know. Yes. You will. During birth my precious kit died. We will love you Shinyflower. You will always be in our hearts. I hope that this was just a dream and I will wake up later.

Please tell me this is just a dream,

Windcloud

OOF rip Windcloud’s kit. But for some reason I weirdly remember that if a kit does in Warrior’s you don’t really memorialize it? Idk (bish it ain’t a dream)

i am at the rock and i am not going back ever, ever, ever. fine. i’ll still check the stats. then maybe i’ll come back. but only maybe.

i’m so upset,

windy

Wow she’s being annoyed like Starasterplin was earlier. Is she just going to eat fish as well?

Yay!!!! I’m a mentor to Butterflypaw! Can’t wait to start!

Signing off and love ya lots,

Windy

Well that was a quick change did we miss a time skip here? Like I’m not sad anymore? Who knows anymore

Heyo Kitty Oh! Josh invented- Oh! Yeah! I recruited some other animals to the clan. I hope Starry doesn’t mind. Oh here she is. Just a sec… Okay she’s good.-Josh invented something called Fashion Plates. All the Warriors and Apprentices including Mossy, Starry, and I, were playing with them in their free time. We are having a competition. (Vote for me)

Luv ya lots,

Windy

Wow we love this. This is called I tried to post updates and had no creative ideas so I looked around my grandparents house and found the fashion plates we’d been playing with and decided I’d make it that some character named Josh created them. Apparently we were having a competition on Fashion Plates that time at grandma and grandpa’s? (Actually actually actually for real though I remember this like we each made three designs or something and then made our family members anonymously vote for which one was best and my little cousin lost and then cried and we then were no longer able to do things like that at my grandparent’s house oops)

I AM SO PISSED AT WINDCLOUD RIGHT NOW!!! HOW COULD SHE GO OUT AND RECRUIT OTHER ANIMALS?!?! IM FLUFFING PISSED! IM ABOUT TO LEAVE THIS FLUFFING CLAN!!!!

Feeling Pissed,

Starasterplin

Wait ok so was Starasterplin chill with the other animals or not? We’re getting mixed stories ladies someone here is lying. Also I thought that she wanted me to recruit cats? I think I just thought I was helping by recruiting other animals.

Problem solved! I told the animal we did not need thier help and they just left! Well, the badger tried to eat me.. but thats not he point! The point is that they are gone and i am happy now!

Ta-Ta

~Starasterplin

Ok so we no longer have animals besides cats- did Josh take the fashion plates with him? Starasterplin is bitter wow

Hey, Moonclan is going to hunt for a new territory and will not be back for awhile… I don’t believe that I will have time to do any entries, being the leader of Moonclan and neither will Windcloud because she is second in command so….. Bye!

Love from Moonclan,

Starasterplin + Windcloud

Ok bye don’t die (actually I wouldn’t care if you died you’re both brats)

Hey! Its Star! Moonclan has now arrived in our new home! We were not sure we would make it in time for the new year, but we made it!

Feeling pleased,

Starasterplin

Wow you made it did anyone die probably not

Sorry that we haven’t updated in awhile… Leaf bare was hard and cold and we lost many warriors and kits… Rest In Peace…. Windy has gone to recruit more kittypets from the human nests. It is just me and the kits in the camp now.

Mourning,

Starasterplin

Oml Leaf bare I remember that all the seasons had different names and that my friend Easton and I would refer to the seasons by their Warrior’s names when we were in second and third grade haha. Also rip the cats that died

Heyo Kitty oh peeps! I am suriously p.o.ed at not seeing my mate in ages.

Pissed,

Windy

Wait why have I not seen him? Is he not a member of Moonclan? Who knows anymore I definitely don’t

This is now a list of the cats in our clan and what order/age they came in! We Are Moonclan!!!!!

Elders

Littlefur

Blossomtail

Swiftfeather

Warriors

Starasterplin

Windcloud

Sparkclaw

Stonewing

Ambereyes

Wolfheart

Mosssong

Apprentices

Tigerpaw (Sparkclaw)

Butterflypaw (Windcloud)

Ravenpaw (Stonewing)

Moonpaw (Wolfheart)

Melodypaw (Ambereyes)

Grasspaw (Mosssong)

Kittens

Starkit

Fishkit

Redkit

Foxkit

Scarletkit

Mintkit

I love that I thought this chapter was necessary. But honestly we were creative when it came to names oops. Ok ok ok but Ambereyes is the most adorable name I’m asdfghjkl

Hello hello! Starasterplin here! It’s greenleaf again and its a nice as ever! Well, there were a few rainfalls that damaged the camp and flooded the rivers but its all fine now! Man, so many births happened in the spring and now I gotta update the clan list~uhhhhhgggggg Hey, did you know that I had a few more kits? yeah! I’ll add them to the clan list for ya. We also got more warriors that we picked up from the human nests. Sure they were soft and peaceful but we are turning them into great warriors!

About to update,

Starasterplin

Once again, oml greenleaf- the season names make me really nostalgic for some reason. Wow more kits

Hey again! Windcloud has been ill the past few moons so its only me… We adopted a thing called ‘Daylight Cats’ These are tame kitties who come to the clan during the day and then go back home at night! They mentor eachother so i will put them into a seperate category on the clan list!!!

NEW MEMBERS! YAY!!!,

Starasterplin

Wait were Daylight Cats an actual thing or did Addie and I make that up? Who knows anymore.

This is now a list of the cats in our clan and what order/age they came in! We are Moonclan!!!!!!

Elders

Littlefur

Blossomtail

Swiftfeather

Warriors

Starasterplin

Windcloud

Sparkclaw

Stonewing

Daisystar

Ambereyes

Wolfheart

Mosssong

Apprentices

Starpaw

Fishpaw

Redpaw

Foxpaw

Scarletpaw

Mintpaw

Kittens

Lilackit

Honeykit

Snowkit

Rubblekit

Rosekit

DAYLIGHT CATS

Moonkit

Hellkit

Rabbitpaw

Featherglow

Pineears

Oakdawn

Gingerspiral

Leopardflash

Spiderspin

So this is it, huh. This is where we stopped writing this monstrosity thank god. And just because I was intrigued I compared the two clan lists and honestly there are a few plot holes where did some of the cats go they just yeeted out of here and disappeared. Like all the apprentices from the first list just disappeared like they didn’t turn into Warrior’s they just disappeared. Tigerpaw, Butterflypaw, Ravenpaw, Moonpaw, Melodypaw, and Grasspaw just don’t exist anymore. Also, off-topic but wasn’t Grasspaw an apprentice at the beginning of the story? Does he just not age? Like Mosssong was born after him and is already a warrior and he’s still an apprentice. Also who’s Daisystar? She just appeared out of nowhere- was she a kittypet? Who even knows I’m just glad this is over.

I hope you enjoyed suffering through this with me it truly sucked. I’m sorry you sat through it oops. That was definitely the worst thing I've ever read, and I've read My Immortal (shout out to those of you who know what that is; oml it's so bad) lmao. Have a good rest of your day, hopefully it's better than whatever tf that was. Bye!

 

Let's give a round of applause to Caroline! She's been one of the Featured Author's that I've had the privilege of keeping close with over the years. She's also my writing men-tee :D So much love heading your way my darling! <3

We'll be seeing more from her throughout the month of December!

Click the heart below to show your love!

12 views0 comments
bottom of page