top of page
  • Alice @360crush

Flashback Friday - Forever a Draft by Alice @360crush


Hello everyone and welcome to my blog! For the ENTIRE month of December, we'll be seeing content like this from both myself, and from the Featured Authors (going all the way back to the beginning!). Along with each of us sharing first chapters from our novels (all on, or soon to be on, Wattpad!), we'll also be getting an inside look into everyone's writing process, book reviews, and even better - getting to know the contestants trying for Featured Author of The Year 2019! Stick around for the fun!

 

Now over to Alice:

My name is Alice, I first started writing back in middle school for fun. I started on fanfiction.net but quickly started using Wattpad once I discovered it. That is when I met my dear friend Shay years ago.

I was featured back in June of 2016, actually, I was the first writer to be featured by Shay and it always meant a lot to me. And although I was happy of how well my first story turned out, despite the cringe, I was most proud of my story, She's Not Bionic. It is a Lab Rats fanfiction that to me, sparked a motivation in myself to write better, which I would like to think did. But since then I had written a bit of other fanfiction but then moved on to real books.

I had an idea for an actual book I believe around either the end of 2016 or the beginning of 2017. That book is what I wanted to share with you. The book never had a title, or a summary. And I only managed to write a small portion of the first chapter before I moved on from it and onto a different book that I actually managed to write some of. So here is the book that is forever a draft.

 

© 360crush. All Rights Reserved.

Juggling my phone between my shoulder and my ear, I walked outside, in the hot LA sun, and sat down right in front of this coffee shop I seem to always be at in my spare time. I don't even like coffee, I always get hot chocolate, despite the constant heat. I was on the phone with my best friend of three years, we met back in high school, I'm 19 now, she's 18. It's her senior year of high school and when I graduated the year before, I moved to California. Not my best decision, but the plan was that I would settle over on the west coast of the country and she would move in with me after leaving the east coast after high school.

"What am I supposed to do, Bri? You know how long it took me to find that job, and if I don't find another one soon, I'm going to have to move back" I said, leaning my head against my free hand, my other hand now holding the phone against my my ear.

"I'm sorry, it sucks I know, but you know what?" My sometimes too honest friend asked. I've always admired her for not sugarcoating everything.

"What" I sighed, hoping she'd about to be saying something positive. That was the problem with being that honest sometimes.

"You can sing and you are in California, more specifically LA, do something with that!" She said, and most likely smiling. I'm not that good, and I'm in California where you have to be good enough to make it.

"I don't know Bri, I mean I'm not that good a singer" I said, a little unsure. I really shouldn't be wasting my time with that when I could find something stable to do.

"I've heard you sing, Ally! Don't make me do this" She warned me, "are you in public?"

"Ok 1, don't call me Ally, 2, please don't make me! And 3, yes I'm in public" Please please don't do this. She does this thing where if she's with me in person or not, she will make me sing a line in a song of her choosing whenever I say that I'm not the best singer. If I don't do it, she never lets me hear the end of it until I do it. At least she chooses songs I like.

 

Let's give a round of applause to Alice! I believe she was one of the first people (if not the first) that I connected with on Wattpad all the way back in 2014 - happy five years of friendship! - and I could not be happier to still have her by my side. Getting to see as all of us fanfic kids transformed into these partially regular authors has been amazing, and I cannot wait to see what she does next!

We'll be seeing more from her throughout the month of December!

Click the heart below to show your love!

6 views0 comments
bottom of page