top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Get to Know Our Featured Authors - Sophi! [Winter Featured List 2018]


Hello everyone and welcome to my blog! For the ENTIRE month of December, we'll be seeing content like this from both myself, and from the Featured Authors (going all the way back to the beginning!). Along with each of us sharing first chapters from our novels (all on, or soon to be on, Wattpad!), we'll also be getting an inside look into everyone's writing process, book reviews, and even better - getting to know the contestants trying for Featured Author of The Year 2019! Stick around for the fun!

But what do we have here today, you ask? As most of you know, I've expanded on my usual Featured Author contest by adding my own version of the 'Wattpad Picks' to my website - because of this, I've found incredible authors with even better stories to share with my followers! Today, we'll get the chance to get to know one of our featured list members in honor of the Featured Author's Get Together!

I hope you all enjoy!

Also posted today: Get to know Misty Hayes (Featured Author of The Year!), Ana and Tyra!

For those who don't know, Sophi (@xoxSophixox ) is one of my better friends from Wattpad, and one who I actually met on accident. After indirectly adding each other's stories to our own libraries, I found out that Sophi had a way with words like no other, and to this day, I'm still hooked on her incredible book - Living With My Boss!

Since our meeting last year, Sophi has posted a total of three novels. One being the first in her 'Living With My Boss' series, Living With My Boss, the sequel Loving My Boss, and her standalone, Reignited Love.

If you would like to get to know Sophi a little better before our FIRST EVER interview, click on the links listed below:

 

SS: Hello, and welcome back to Featured Author! How have things been since we last spoke?

SOPHI: Hey! It’s great to be here but I have to admit I’m a little nervous as I’ve never participated in something like this but I’m sure I’ll find my feet. I’ve finished my final year of school and am now working a part time job which is going well. It also means I have time during the day to write more which is awesome!

SS: To get started off with some fun questions, what does your life outside of Wattpad/writing look like? Any fun hobbies?

SOPHI: Hmm that’s a difficult one because there are so many things I love to do! I love to bake (which is especially important this time of year because soon enough I’ll be making a huge batch of mince pies for Christmas!) I love to read- which I think most writers do! But I’m finding difficult at the moment as I need some good recommendations! Oh and of course I can’t forget to mention my love for the Sims! Hehe

SS: What’s the most interesting thing about you that we haven’t learned so far?

SOPHI: This one is interesting but also quite embarrassing but I’ll share it with you anyway. I’ve created a word document with all series I have ever watched (I say watched but I really mean started and got bored somewhere into the 2nd season) along with which episode I am currently on. Now here’s the embarrassing part. There are 49 different series (since 2014) and I’ve only finished 7.

SS: When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?

SOPHI: When I was younger I aspired to be an electrician like my father because I thought it was the coolest job in the world. I was insistent that electricity was magic :) But after that I wanted to become an English teacher until I found my passion for writing.

SS: What was your first story and how did you come up with it?

SOPHI: Oh goodness! I try to not even think about that! My first story was a One Direction fan fiction that I never finished writing. I came up with this idea through my cousin who was writing a Justin Bieber fan fiction in early 2013. I had a major crush on Niall and wrote about us being in a band. The reason I am on Wattpad is because of my cousin as she gave me the push to create my very first account which is still the one I use today.

SS: What made you want to write?

SOPHI: As I’ve said my cousin gave me the initial push to start writing but I’ve always wanted to create whether that be short comedic videos I’d record on my camera or a fantasy world within a book. I’ve always said that I’m not writing for others, I’m writing for myself. As cliche as it may sound it is an escape and I think many other writers can relate to that. By creating a world from your imagination it means that you and only you can control what happens within it and that’s the thing I love most about writing, there are no limitations and the possibilities of what you can achieve are endless. You just have to find someone who’ll listen.

SS: What’s one thing that you have to have/do in order to write for your story?

SOPHI: Plan and motivation. Those are the two things I think everyone needs to succeed in anything and they go hand in hand which is why I couldn’t only give you one thing (Sorry Shay :D). Without a plan I think my book’s timelines would be all over the place (I’m not gonna lie Living With My Boss kind of is) but that’s something I’ve found to be most helpful when writing. Yet somehow ideas always seem to evolve and change while creating a chapter and I tend to stray from that initial plan anyway. But having that basic plan laid out is essential otherwise I’d probably forget what happened in the last two chapters. I also believe that motivation is key. There are some days that I feel like writing is a chore because I have no motivation to write but when I see something (maybe in a tv show, movie or while I’m driving) that peaks my interest motivation floods through me and I can churn out 2 chapters a day.

SS: What gave you the idea/how did you come up with your most recent book or series?

SOPHI: I think I’ve told this story to so many people already and it still makes me laugh. Around 2 years ago on Wattpad books about a successful arrogant rich man falling for a poor vulnerable woman were at their peak. I read a couple and realised that they were all the same- don’t get me wrong I do love a good cliche but I wanted something different. Something with more excitement and I came up with the idea for Living With My Boss. On the surface LWMB seems like a cliche story about a woman who moves into an apartment with her boss (and I guess that is what LWMB is for the first 1/3 of the story) however the deeper I got into writing the more I realised could happen and essentially flip the narrative on its head and so Living With My Boss was born!

SS: What’s one of your favorite things about writing?

SOPHI: I think I kind of answered this in another question oops but my favourite thing about writing is creating a world from my imagination and it being something that is unique to me and no one else. I may take inspiration from other things but once that is all put together the story is mine and only I could have thought of it.

SS: What are you most looking forward to in 2019?

SOPHI: I’m looking forward to the evolution of Loving My Boss (the second book in my series). 13 chapters have been posted on Wattpad and I’m aiming for the book to be finished at around 50 (like the first) so hopefully it should be finished in September 2019 which I’m super excited about as I can’t wait to see the book finished as a whole!

 

I hope everyone enjoyed catching up with Sophi!

Thank you all for checking out the latest addition to my annual event, The Featured Author's Get Together! For more info, check out the Get Together page here on the site!

If you guys like the post, heart it by clicking the button below, and leave a comment telling me what you think! If you'd like to see more posts like this, let me know by telling me below or contact me on one of my social media profiles!

11 views0 comments
bottom of page