top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Get To Know Our Featured Authors - Misty Hayes [Featured Author of The Year] [Posted December 12, 20


Hello everyone and welcome to my blog! For the ENTIRE month of December, we'll be seeing content like this from both myself, and from the Featured Authors (going all the way back to the beginning!). Along with each of us sharing first chapters from our novels (all on, or soon to be on, Wattpad!), we'll also be getting an inside look into everyone's writing process, book reviews, and even better - getting to know the contestants trying for Featured Author of The Year 2019! Stick around for the fun!

But what do we have here today, you ask? As most of you know, I've expanded on my usual Featured Author contest by picking from our already incredible featured authors to find a featured author of the year! Today, we'll get the chance to get to know our very own Featured Authors of the Year 2018 in honor of the Featured Author's Get Together!

I hope you all enjoy!

Also posted today: Get to know Ana, Tyra and Sophi!

For those who don't know, Misty Hayes (@MGHayesWriter ) is not only one of our few published authors featured in the Get Together this year, but she's also our author of the year! I would highly suggest you each watch out for this incredible writer - I know everyone is going to enjoy her Blood Dagger series!

Since starting on Wattpad, Misty has posted a total of two novels. One being the first in her now published series, The Outcasts: The Blood Dagger Volume 1, and the second being the sequel, The Watchers: The Blood Dagger Volume 2!

If you would like to get to know Misty a little better before our next interview, click on the links listed below:

 

SS: Hello, and welcome back to Featured Author! How have things been since we last spoke?

MISTY: You ever see those memes where the kid or dog or cat is crashing ungracefully into something after trying to stick a landing? The meme says: 'Me when I try and get through life,' or something along those lines ... yeah, well ... the law of Gravity has never been a friend of mine. But, as long as I can keep getting back up; putting my feet firmly on the ground, I'm golden. Was this an answer to your question? I'm good. Real good.

SS: To get started off with some fun questions, what does your life outside of Wattpad/writing look like? Any fun hobbies?

MISTY: Hobbies? What does this mean? Just kidding, sort of. I run a lot, does that count as fun? I did a half marathon at night through downtown Dallas about a week ago. It was an absolutely awesome experience and also sight to behold, all those twinkling city lights in the background while I felt like I was dying and my lungs were on fire ....

SS: What’s the most interesting thing about you that we haven’t learned so far?

MISTY: As an author and police officer, I still feel like that little rabbit on Zootopia: Bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, ready to tackle the world, but also underestimated and in a little over my head. I guess that's why you have to earn it every step of the way. By 'it' I mean everything. A little r-e-s-p-e-c-t and trust and know-how that only comes with experience. I don't even know if this was an answer to your question.

SS: When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?

MISTY: FBI Agent. Law Enforcement was and has always been a calling.

SS: What was your first story and how did you come up with it?

MISTY: The Blood Dagger Series. It was about five years ago.

SS: What made you want to write?

MISTY: There is no easy answer to this question, you think there would be ... I guess call it another calling.

SS: What’s one thing that you have to have/do in order to write for your story?

MISTY: Keep the story authentic. It must be something I want to read. Sometimes you can get too wrapped up in what other people think or like. Stay true to yourself.

SS: What gave you the idea/how did you come up with your most recent book or series?

MISTY: It was right after the Twilight craze. I thought the books/movies were entertaining in their own right, but man, society can do so much better in the female protagonist department. I wanted my lead to do a lot of growing, but it was important to me that she be more relatable, and that she wasn't the perfect cookie-cutter-teenage-girl-who's-attractive-but-doesn't-know-it type. Plus, I didn't want the story driven by just romance, I wanted the plot to take over.

SS: What’s one of your favorite things about writing?

MISTY: Creating plot twists and jaw dropping moments where the reader gets so caught off guard because they've been so emotionally invested in the characters, and moment, that they can't predict what happens next.

SS: What are you most looking forward to in 2019?

MISTY: Getting done with Volume three - Tree of Souls - the last book in my series! What a wild ride that will be.

 

I hope everyone enjoyed catching up with Misty!

Thank you all for checking out the latest addition to my annual event, The Featured Author's Get Together! For more info, check out the Get Together page here on the site!

If you guys like the post, heart it by clicking the button below, and leave a comment telling me what you think! If you'd like to see more posts like this, let me know by telling me below or contact me on one of my social media profiles!

9 views0 comments
bottom of page