top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Get to Know Our Featured Authors - Ana! [Featured Author June 2018]


Hello everyone and welcome to my blog! For the ENTIRE month of December, we'll be seeing content like this from both myself, and from the Featured Authors (going all the way back to the beginning!). Along with each of us sharing first chapters from our novels (all on, or soon to be on, Wattpad!), we'll also be getting an inside look into everyone's writing process, book reviews, and even better - getting to know the contestants trying for Featured Author of The Year 2019! Stick around for the fun!

But what do we have here today, you ask? As most of you know, I've expanded on my usual Featured Author contest by adding my own version of the 'Wattpad Picks' to my website - because of this, I've found incredible authors with even better stories to share with my followers! Today, we'll get the chance to get to know one of our featured list members in honor of the Featured Author's Get Together!

I hope you all enjoy!

Also posted today: Get to know Misty Hayes (Featured Author of The Year!), Sophi and Tyra!

For those who don't know, Ana (@xanabanana66x ) is one of the featured authors that I actually still keep in touch with. After our initial meeting, I've learned not only that she's an incredible author, but that she also enjoys olives (fun fact). But in all seriousness, I've loved getting to know her and I cannot wait to see what she does next!

Since joining Wattpad, Ana has posted a total of seven works; One being the first in her 'Winter' series, Winter Has Come, the sequel Winter Went, and her standalone that looks utterly intriguing, Mystery Man and Me.

If you would like to get to know Ana little better before our FIRST EVER interview, click on the links listed below:

 

SS: First off, welcome back to featured author! It’s been awhile since we’ve seen you around. How have you been?

ANA: Very well. I’m in Year 11 of school now, which if you don’t know the British system well, is like 10th Grade or something. Anyway, I have a lot of exams this year so I’ve mainly been focussing on that. Bit stressful but I’ll manage.

SS: Let’s get things going with something fun (something I usually don’t ask our regular featured authors) tell us five fun facts about yourself!

ANA: Alright, here goes nothing:

-I’m a massive olive fan

-I love dogs but don’t own any

-I play the piano and flute

-I write my own piano music

-I’m a very introverted introvert

SS: What kinds of writing have you been up to as of late? Have you started any new projects since we last had an interview?

ANA: I wrote a short story for Wattpad’s A Daring Halloween competition hosted by Mystery and a few other profiles. It’s called Tell No One and can be found on my profile. Feel free to check it out and tell me what you think!

SS: What’s the favorite book you’ve written so far and why? Would you recommend it to our featured author readers?

ANA: How can I do this without sounding annoying and boastful?! Well, I’m particularly fond of my book called Winter Has Come. It’s the most popular one I have and it holds a specific place in my heart. And I would certainly recommend it, yes.

SS: Which of your characters do you feel you most relate to and why?

ANA: For anyone who’s read the book, probably the character of Angie. She’s the best friend who, along with Amelia, gets dragged into everything. I think she’s whacky like me and enjoys playing Chubby Bunny like I do!

SS: Most authors tend to go through a change in their writing process during the course of their ‘wattpad career’. Have you taken any breaks from Wattpad or changed your writing process in any way?

ANA: I don’t think I’ve gotten to that stage yet. I’m still trying out new things and seeing what works best for me, as well as meeting the most amazing people along the way!

SS: What’s the strangest thing you’ve had to research for a book you’ve written?

ANA: Okay, please don’t assume I’m a psychopath, but probably how many litres of blood a human has. I write a lot of tense, fight scenes and I just wanted to know how much blood my characters could lose before they finally passed out.

SS: Are you reading any books at the moment? Which would you recommend to our readers?

ANA: I read a Fantasy novel called the Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid and I loved it! It does have some elements of cliché that some people might find annoying but it didn’t really bother me. I found that all of it was amazing: the characters and the setting was surreal! Seriously, if you get a chance to read it, do. You won’t regret it!

SS: Do you have any new projects coming up soon (new books, a YouTube channel, ect.)?

ANA: I’ve contemplated a new piano tutorial channel on Instagram but I’m not sure if I’m going to go ahead with that. I’m updating Winter Went every Wednesday and Friday, though, as well as planning out the rest of my story called Mother Told Me Not To Turn, all of which can be found on my profile.

SS: Lastly - do you have any writing wisdom you would so graciously like to bestow upon us?

ANA: Write. Keep writing. Don’t stop writing. The more you do it, the more you’ll be amazed at how much you’re improving.

 

I hope everyone enjoyed catching up with Ana!

Thank you all for checking out the latest addition to my annual event, The Featured Author's Get Together! For more info, check out the Get Together page here on the site!

If you guys like the post, heart it by clicking the button below, and leave a comment telling me what you think! If you'd like to see more posts like this, let me know by telling me below or contact me on one of my social media profiles!

6 views0 comments
bottom of page