top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Review - Mr Silent and I by Erhun @I-Am-You [Featured Author of August 2018]


Hello everyone and welcome to my blog! For the ENTIRE month of December, we'll be seeing content like this from both myself, and from the Featured Authors (going all the way back to the beginning!). Along with each of us sharing first chapters from our novels (all on, or soon to be on, Wattpad!), we'll also be getting an inside look into everyone's writing process, book reviews, and even better - getting to know the contestants trying for Featured Author of The Year 2019! Stick around for the fun!

But what do we have here today, you ask? Our event for the Tuesday's of this year's Get Together includes book reviews of any and all books written by featured authors, and I've picked the perfect book to get us started with!

Check out the Get Together page here on the site for more information on the Featured Authors Get Together 2018!

Mr Silent and I by Erhun Oriakhi

Wattpad: 35 chapters (36 with Epilogue!)

Published: May 15th, 2018

Complete

Shay's Thoughts? 3.5/5

"Listen Mr. Silent..." She said approaching me. I looked at her expecting her to say something. She made sure our faces were close just so I'd be the only one to hear her.

The smile on her face transformed into a smirk. This made me curious of what she was going to say, then she said it.

"I'm going to make you speak."

Dean Adams, 17, and has never spoken to anyone in Eastwood High. He's rich, has good grades, handsome but he never says 'Hi.'

Isabelle Colt, 17, she's loud, out going and tends to ask a lot of questions. She is the new girl in Eastwood High.

She is placed as Dean's seat partner and because of her outgoing personality, she's determined to make Dean, the guy who has never spoken to anyone speak.

I'd like to start off this review by introducing this amazing author, one who just so happens to have won the Featured Author contest that I run on a monthly basis - Erhun. or as she's better known to her followers on Wattpad, @I-Am-You . Since joining Wattpad in mid-2017, Erhun has written 3 books (all completed!) and has garnered just over 300 followers on our favorite writing platform.

Our first interaction was prior to her initial feature in August, and from the get go, I knew she had something special. Usually when I go to pick the author (or sometimes authors when time gets away from me), I try to take the time to look over a few of the novels each author has written. Instantly upon reading her book, Mr Silent and I... it had me hooked; and I know that each and every one of you will soon feel the same.

One of the most important aspects of any story, to me, is the first line. It's got to be intriguing enough to keep the reader hooked, and Erhun did that with three simple words. 'I love you' written in bold was the first taste of Isabelle and Dean's impending love story I'd gotten, and I couldn't have been happier with the intro.

From then on we get to watch as Isabelle adjusts to life at a new school - new classes, new friends, and a new mysterious stranger that just so happen to be her seatmate. With our protagonists' first impression of Dean Adams out of the way, we're left wondering who this guy is and what exactly made him stop talking. Though Isabelle is a rather inexperienced investigator, she does her best to uncover her new crushes' secrets in an attempt to get to know him better. Little does she know, she just might be the one to get him to speak... But I guess we'll have to read to find out more!

Overall, this is exactly the kind of book that I look for when diving into bed for a late night read on Wattpad. I'm a sucker for cliches and the classic love-to-hate / best-friends-in-love tropes, and Mr Silent and I has all of that and more. I was dying to know why Dean had stopped speaking - was it some kind of trauma he had yet to work through? - while at the same time I couldn't shake the hope that Isabelle would push him to utter just a few words. I would highly recommend this one if you're looking for a light read with quick humor and lovable characters.

But why give it 3.5 out of 5 then, Shay? All I'll say is - Erhun is an incredible author, and I know from this point she's only going to get even better. If looked at a second time after her, now, almost year-and-a-half's worth of experience, she can fine tune this book and turn it into something that will be topping the charts in no time. That's what I love most about online writing - the fact that we can get feedback, and that we can do better in a quicker amount of time. Even when looking back over my writing from a year ago (after nearly five years at this whole writing thing), I can see just how much I've changed as a writer.

For Erhun, this is an impeccable start, and like I said - she's only going to get even better from here. S

ending all my love Erhun's way and hope to see more like this from her in the future!

Mr Silent and I is available in full on Wattpad

Erhun @I-Am-You

For more information on our Featured Author of August 2018 -

 

Thank you all for checking out the latest addition to my annual event, The Featured Author's Get Together! For more info, check out the Get Together page here on the site!

If you guys like the post, heart it by clicking the button below, and leave a comment telling me what you think! If you'd like to see more posts like this, let me know by telling me below or contact me on one of my social media profiles!

5 views0 comments
bottom of page