top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay Spencer

Spring Reading List!


Something new has come our way as spring slowly rolls in, and I'm happy to give everyone some insight as to what this exciting new post will entail...

Despite the vast amount of new projects I've already taken on this year, I have further decided to try something that should be much more fun than merely regular updates or random contests.

A new type of book club is now here - why, you may ask? Simply to give everyone an insight as to what books have been on my radar as of late (or really, which one's have been hidden in my Wattpad library for well over six months).

One of the joys of doing this, will really be reading for a change, instead of just glancing at the covers and wondering whether or not they'll worth my time, or your own.

 

The first of our three Spring Reads, will include the popular novel written by the published Wattpad author, Sam Madison - Chance Encounters.

Story Status: Completed

Progress I've Made: Chapter 1

Start Date: April 12th, 2017

Want to Complete By: June 30th, 2017

Chance Encounters follows "seventeen-year-old Reed, who has never believed in the concept of destiny and love. When her best friend dragged her in a search for their "soulmates" one Saturday night, Reed knew it wasn't going to end well."

That pretty much sums up the first chapter, but as I've quickly learned with this author, there is so much more to a story than meets the eye.

Why should you guys check out this book? I personally feel a kinship to this author after having read her story, The Heartbroken Heartbreaker. That book basically changed the way I read books on Wattpad. Not only was that very book filled with everyday high school drama, but it also included heartbreak, illness, and one of the biggest plot twists I've seen so far in a romance novel on Wattpad.

Reading The Heartbroken Heartbreaker was what initially drew me into Chance encounters, and although I've only read about half way into the first chapter, I'm definitely looking forward to what's coming next. Knowing that our main protagonist, Reed, will be not only searching for her soulmate by the will of her best friend, but that she may just find him on this Saturday night adventure that she embarks on, is quite intriguing. I hope you guys will read along with me!

 

Our next story has been topping the charts of Chick-lit for the last few weeks, and has also caught my eye. Lend me your eyes as we now check out the novel written by fellow Wattpad author, Austen Richelle Snow - Bittersweet.

Story Status: Ongoing

Progress I've Made: Chapter 1

Start Date: April 12th, 2017

Want to Complete By: June 30th, 2017

Bittersweet follows "Katy Thomas, who is best known for her booming bakery shop, Katy Cakes, that has desserts as sweet as she. Her new neighbor, Gage Rivers, is best known for being bitter and closed off from others. The only thing they really have in common is their passion to escape from their pasts. When one day they find themselves both in a tight situation, they turn to each other for help. Soon, their relationship as neighbors starts to shift into something more."

Why should you guys check out this book? Initially, it was the cover that got me to click the infamous 'read' button on Wattpad. Then, there was the fact that this book has been ranking for weeks on the hot-list. I knew then that this book had to live up to the hype. So what did I do next? I read the damned book (or at least the first chapter).

This book has a very relatable main character, and to boot, there seems to be a bad boy who bakes along with her? If any of you have been following my reading lists from the past, you'll know that I'm a sucker for bad boy romances, and if baking is also involved, then it's got to be good. How could we not love this book, guys?

 

The third and final of our Spring Reads, will include the first in a two-book series written by this popular and highly esteemed Wattpad star, Steffanie - The Seat Filler.

Story Status: Completed

Progress I've Made: Chapter 8

Start Date: April 12th, 2017

Want to Complete By: June 30th, 2017

The Seat Filler finds our hysterical male protagonist "Lincoln Parker, who works as none other than a celebrity seat filer during award shows. But when an awkward lands him in front of rising star, Emily Margot, people begin to assume what any Hollywood magazine would want them too: that Lincoln and Emily are the new it couple."

What we see in the first few chapters is exactly what our description entails - a fall that leads to an arranged publicity relationship between Lincoln and Emily. Though this relationship may be fake for the cameras, Lincoln can already feel himself falling for our British sweetheart from day one.

Why should you guys check out this book? I'll be the first to admit, for some reason, I'm a sucker for the winner's from the 2015 Watty Awards (other examples being Pillow Talks and Currents), so I knew this one would be good from the start. But one of the main reasons to check this book out, is for the humor/banter between the main characters. Not only is Lincoln one of the more relatable characters I've seen from a Wattpad story (personality wise), but Emily's got a good head on her, too. For being a rising star, Emily still knows who she is, and what she wants; she hasn't let Hollywood get the best of her yet. So yes, everyone should go and read this book.

 

Now that you all have your options, go read! I'd love too see what you all think of these amazing choices!

Drop a comment below, or find me on one of my social media profiles, and tell me what you think - you all have until June 30th! Challenge accepted...

9 views0 comments
bottom of page